Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
FINALLY an oatmeal raisin cookie that is soft and chewy without having to fiddle with my oven and timer! This basic recipe is a tad unusual to me because of more eggs and flour and less oats. Except for using a half teaspoon more of vanilla (which is my preference..not to bash the cook here that shared this recipe) and didn't refrigerate the eggs/vanilla/raisins, I followed the ingredient amounts. I did however, change what I did AFTER I mixed it up. In other words, I basically treated this recipe as I would the recipe on the oatmeal box but using the amount of ingredients in this recipe here and not refrigerating anything. I also hate rolling balls, so I just dropped by teaspoons onto the greased baking sheet. To me, having a perfect oatmeal cookie isn't a perfectly round cookie..but rather, odd shapes after dropping it. :) Been making cookies since I was 8, and I am now 61...so I am used to cookies not uniform except peanut butter cookies. :) ANYWAY, this cookie turned out soooo yummy...chewy in the middle and crunchier on the outside, which to me is a perfect oatmeal raisin cookie. THIS cookie is a DEFINITE KEEPER!!! Thank you for sharing! I bow down to you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Omitted raisins first time, skipped 1st step. Cookies were awesome, chewy 3 days later. We're high alt. (6800 ft), so added 1/4 c xtra flour.Didnt turn out thin and crispy like most of my cookies. Used raisins second time. Just as good - raisins plump and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is a very flavorful recipe. Easy to make. I never tried Putting the eggs and raisins together and this made all the difference in the world! Our raisins were a little hard but soaking them made them plump and juicy. I also rolled the balls in cinnamon and sugar, and this small step also seemed to make a huge difference in taste and texture. This will definitely be the oatmeal recipe I use from now on. Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
These are a no fail great cookie! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Ok I jsut made these cookies. The best I have ever made love them. June 4 2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
The best oatmeal cookies I have ever had! My husband thought there should be more raisins in them. I used parchment paper and it was fast and easy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
BEST, BEST, BEST EVER OATMEAL COOKIE...HANDS DOWN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These cookies are fantastic!!! Great recipe. I didn't change a thing but I did use golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillyG2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I subbed cranberries for the raisins and ommitted the walnuts...Used dark brown sugar and doubled the cinnamon... These are the most amazing cookies ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I have tried so many oatmeal cookies recipes and this one is the BEST by far! I substituted unsalted butter for the shortening (I didn't have any on hand) and I also used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of raisins. These cookies were downright addicting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States