Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
None of the reviews that I read have mentioned that the process of soaking the raisins in the eggs and vanilla infuses them with the vanilla flavor that you can really taste in the cookie. Because I think this is what makes these cookies so special, I was wondering what you do if you are using chocolate chips instead of raisins? Nothing to soak...just combine the egg and vanilla for an hour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome!!! I do half butter and half shortening. No need to refrigerate... I also add some baking powder.. Great tasting cookie..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I have made these cookies hundreds of times. They are to die for! I never have used the "butter-flavored" shortening because I only have regular shortening so I have always just sprayed a little bit of butter flavor pam on top of the shortening during that step. Recently I tried 2 cups flour and 1/2 cup of wheat flour to see what difference it made. I thought they tasted just as good and could not tell the difference. Also, I usually let the raisins stand in with the vanilla and 2 beaten eggs and then add the 3rd egg during when combining the raisin/egg in the recipe. I have accidentally left the raisins/vanilla/egg mixture in the fridge for a whole day and a half, and the end result was just as fabulous. Sometimes I roll the balls in the cinnamon/sugar when I have the time. Either way, the recipe as is is still 5 stars! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasgal_Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Made it with Chocolate chips and walnuts. Simply delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breena Clarke
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Yes, this one is the best. I used to use the one on the Quaker Oats box. I tried this. My husband said, "These are the best cookies." Yes, they are. I added pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Great oatmeal cookie, made a little differently than from the recipe on the Quaker Oatmeal box (more flour, less oatmeal). I added a second teaspoon of cinnamon and also added a quarter cup of milk mixed with a quarter teaspoon of cider vinegar (and one time, a quarter cup of buttermilk) because the mixture is too dry to adhere otherwise. I made it with real unsalted butter instead of butter flavored shortening. I used an ice cream scoop to measure out the dough, flattening each with an oil-coated spatula. This made 24 large cookies--about the size you get in coffee shops. Baked them for 18 minutes. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Great recipe! I was skeptical about adding the eggs to the mixture after adding flour instead of with the sugar mixture but they turned out great. I used half whole wheat flour, butter in stead of shortening, and also used craisins/pumpkin seeds instead of raisins/walnuts. I also reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Amazing cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Excellent, because i didn't have time to refrigerate the egg with the raisins I boiled the raisins for 3 min. drained them and proceeded with the recipe. Per one of the reviews I also used only a 1/2 c sugar with a tsp of cinnamon to roll the cookie dough ball in instead of a cup of sugar and had plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Excellent cookies! Like others I subbed butter for lard, left out the walnuts and added chocolate chips as well as raisins. I also decreased the white sugar to half. Wonderful! I will use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States