Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I have made these cookies hundreds of times. They are to die for! I never have used the "butter-flavored" shortening because I only have regular shortening so I have always just sprayed a little bit of butter flavor pam on top of the shortening during that step. Recently I tried 2 cups flour and 1/2 cup of wheat flour to see what difference it made. I thought they tasted just as good and could not tell the difference. Also, I usually let the raisins stand in with the vanilla and 2 beaten eggs and then add the 3rd egg during when combining the raisin/egg in the recipe. I have accidentally left the raisins/vanilla/egg mixture in the fridge for a whole day and a half, and the end result was just as fabulous. Sometimes I add a little more cinnamon than what's called for. Sometimes I roll the balls in the cinnamon/sugar when I have the time. Either way, the recipe as is is still 5 stars! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasgal_Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Made it with Chocolate chips and walnuts. Simply delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breena Clarke
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Yes, this one is the best. I used to use the one on the Quaker Oats box. I tried this. My husband said, "These are the best cookies." Yes, they are. I added pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Great oatmeal cookie, made a little differently than from the recipe on the Quaker Oatmeal box (more flour, less oatmeal). I added a second teaspoon of cinnamon and also added a quarter cup of milk mixed with a quarter teaspoon of cider vinegar (and one time, a quarter cup of buttermilk) because the mixture is too dry to adhere otherwise. I made it with real unsalted butter instead of butter flavored shortening. I used an ice cream scoop to measure out the dough, flattening each with an oil-coated spatula. This made 24 large cookies--about the size you get in coffee shops. Baked them for 18 minutes. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Great recipe! I was skeptical about adding the eggs to the mixture after adding flour instead of with the sugar mixture but they turned out great. I used half whole wheat flour, butter in stead of shortening, and also used craisins/pumpkin seeds instead of raisins/walnuts. I also reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Amazing cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Excellent, because i didn't have time to refrigerate the egg with the raisins I boiled the raisins for 3 min. drained them and proceeded with the recipe. Per one of the reviews I also used only a 1/2 c sugar with a tsp of cinnamon to roll the cookie dough ball in instead of a cup of sugar and had plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Excellent cookies! Like others I subbed butter for lard, left out the walnuts and added chocolate chips as well as raisins. I also decreased the white sugar to half. Wonderful! I will use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I was surprised at how stiff the dough was, but they turned out well. In my oven/pans they browned too fast, so I lowered the temp to 325 and baked them an extra minute. Turned out perfectly! Next time, though, I'll probably add another 1/2 cup of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa_Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
FINALLY an oatmeal raisin cookie that is soft and chewy without having to fiddle with my oven and timer! This basic recipe is a tad unusual to me because of more eggs and flour and less oats. Except for using a half teaspoon more of vanilla (which is my preference..not to bash the cook here that shared this recipe) and didn't refrigerate the eggs/vanilla/raisins, I followed the ingredient amounts. I did however, change what I did AFTER I mixed it up. In other words, I basically treated this recipe as I would the recipe on the oatmeal box but using the amount of ingredients in this recipe here and not refrigerating anything. I also hate rolling balls, so I just dropped by teaspoons onto the greased baking sheet. To me, having a perfect oatmeal cookie isn't a perfectly round cookie..but rather, odd shapes after dropping it. :) Been making cookies since I was 8, and I am now 61...so I am used to cookies not uniform except peanut butter cookies. :) ANYWAY, this cookie turned out soooo yummy...chewy in the middle and crunchier on the outside, which to me is a perfect oatmeal raisin cookie. THIS cookie is a DEFINITE KEEPER!!! Thank you for sharing! I bow down to you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States