Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
They were very good when eaten on the same day. But, very hard the following days. Maybe next time I'll try the white-bread-in-the-cookie-jar trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly H.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This really is a very good oatmeal cookie! I chose this recipe over others as it has only a single spice, cinnamon, and I want an oatmeal cookie that takes like oatmeal. Also, any recipe that has the word "grandmother" in it makes me look twice. The cookie is crisp on the outside, soft on the inside, perhaps a bit too sweet for me (I will cut down the sugars by 1/4 cup each next time, I think). I omitted the walnuts because I think they don't belong in an oatmeal cookie. I only made 3 1/2 dozen out of this batch, but we like a larger cookie! Thank you for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is a great recipe. I used butter instead of shorting and dried cranberies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
awesome cookies!! whole family loved them! nice change of pace from my regular oatmeal cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
We have never found a better recipe for Oatmeal Cookies. We do use craisins, since it is a local product, and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This is the BEST recipe ever! I have been making these as gifts this year because of so many compliments I have recieved. NOTE: The first time I made these, I let the raisins soak overnight. They swelled so much that I had to blend them with a mixer, they broke up in the dough and infused through the entire cookie in small bits. That was a mistake I'll do every time now, since it made a moister, tastier cookie than the rest of the times I have made them with raisins soaking 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Hands down, THE best oatmeal cookie I have tried. I don't use raisins but instead sub in choc chips or butterscotch chips. Awesome. You can also roll the balls of doung in sugar before baking for a nice shiny crisp outside and tender inside. FIVE stars all the way!! Add ingredients as directed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingblonde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
The best oatmeal cookies I've ever had. This recipe made about 60 cookies. I made them for a 12 hour road trip & they were ALL GONE before we got there. I took a suggestion to roll the dough balls in the sugar/cinnamon mixture and I liked that better than just plain. This is my new standard oatmeal cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I made these last year and printed out the recipe. I didn't have enough brown sugar, so used 1/2 cup brown and 1-1/2 cups of white. I made a note on the card of the sugar change. They turned out perfectly. I got 73 cookies. These are my husbands favorite. I have a batch in the oven now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
after reading the reviews on this cookie I chose this recipe over several others to bake. It is tasty,but not the best oatmeal cookie I have eaten, and is kind of pale in color, not robust... will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States