Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ahmad ashkaibi
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Amazing recipe! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is my new go-to oatmeal cookie recipe. Oatmeal chocolate chips are my husband's favourites, so I substituted the raisins for chocolate chips but they were still super delicious! I might just have to make myself a batch with raisins so I don't have to share!! LOL Thanks for the great recipe, Happygolucky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Wonderful! I used Craisins (dried cranberries) and frosted half with a powdered sugar/milk ice drizzle. Yummy! My children normally do not eat oatmeal but they love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe! I used only a few raisins as I needed the dough for mincemeat cookies and they turned out delicious soft cookies with wonderful texture. I mixed about 1 1/2 Cup prepared mincemeat into 3/4 of the dough loosely, i.e., not mixed thoroughly. Make small balls (acorn size) of the regular dough and smash them into small thin circles to make a base, then place a small walnut-size amount of the mincemeat mixed dough on top. Bake as usual. Made without the base the mincemeat cookies were too sticky on the bottom and not cookie-like. With the base of regular dough, the mincemeat cookies were perfect. Chilling helped. Next time I will use more oatmeal, less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I used to think that I didn't even like oatmeal raisin cookies, but this recipe has changed everything. These are moist, chewy, absolutely delicious, perfect cookies. I would give them 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selena Hunt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
None of the reviews that I read have mentioned that the process of soaking the raisins in the eggs and vanilla infuses them with the vanilla flavor that you can really taste in the cookie. Because I think this is what makes these cookies so special, I was wondering what you do if you are using chocolate chips instead of raisins? Nothing to soak...just combine the egg and vanilla for an hour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome!!! I do half butter and half shortening. No need to refrigerate... I also add some baking powder.. Great tasting cookie..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I have made these cookies hundreds of times. They are to die for! I never have used the "butter-flavored" shortening because I only have regular shortening so I have always just sprayed a little bit of butter flavor pam on top of the shortening during that step. Recently I tried 2 cups flour and 1/2 cup of wheat flour to see what difference it made. I thought they tasted just as good and could not tell the difference. Also, I usually let the raisins stand in with the vanilla and 2 beaten eggs and then add the 3rd egg during when combining the raisin/egg in the recipe. I have accidentally left the raisins/vanilla/egg mixture in the fridge for a whole day and a half, and the end result was just as fabulous. Sometimes I add a little more cinnamon than what's called for. Sometimes I roll the balls in the cinnamon/sugar when I have the time. Either way, the recipe as is is still 5 stars! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasgal_Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Made it with Chocolate chips and walnuts. Simply delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breena Clarke
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Yes, this one is the best. I used to use the one on the Quaker Oats box. I tried this. My husband said, "These are the best cookies." Yes, they are. I added pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States