Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
In a word? DIVINE!! I seem to be the only one with the opposite problem of those who experienced dry dough. Mine was so moist that I had to add about a quarter cup extra flour to be able to work with it. I did one thing, though, that may or may not have accounted for this. I mixed the raisins in the eggs and vanilla as directed, covered it, then refrigerated...and refrigerated! I forgot about it for almost two days! When I remembered and retrieved it, the eggs had completely soaked into the raisins. Don't know if that accounted for the extra-moist dough. The problem was easily remedied with the addition of the extra quarter cup of flour. The next time I make them, presumably with the proper soak timing, I'll amend this review to report the results if different. Additionally, I only keep regular, rolled oats in the house, but no matter. Lovely, soft cookies, with a hearty chewiness that is wholesome, appealing and satisfying. Cookie jar cookies, if they last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made this for a holiday cookie swap!! It was a big hit. Didn't use nuts. I would bake this again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have used this recipe for years. It is the only one that I have found that is just how I like them. Soft and chewy. One reviewer stated that her husband forbids her from making them cause he can not stop eating them. LOL that is my problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Photo by ahmad ashkaibi
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Amazing recipe! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is my new go-to oatmeal cookie recipe. Oatmeal chocolate chips are my husband's favourites, so I substituted the raisins for chocolate chips but they were still super delicious! I might just have to make myself a batch with raisins so I don't have to share!! LOL Thanks for the great recipe, Happygolucky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Wonderful! I used Craisins (dried cranberries) and frosted half with a powdered sugar/milk ice drizzle. Yummy! My children normally do not eat oatmeal but they love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe! I used only a few raisins as I needed the dough for mincemeat cookies and they turned out delicious soft cookies with wonderful texture. I mixed about 1 1/2 Cup prepared mincemeat into 3/4 of the dough loosely, i.e., not mixed thoroughly. Make small balls (acorn size) of the regular dough and smash them into small thin circles to make a base, then place a small walnut-size amount of the mincemeat mixed dough on top. Bake as usual. Made without the base the mincemeat cookies were too sticky on the bottom and not cookie-like. With the base of regular dough, the mincemeat cookies were perfect. Chilling helped. Next time I will use more oatmeal, less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I used to think that I didn't even like oatmeal raisin cookies, but this recipe has changed everything. These are moist, chewy, absolutely delicious, perfect cookies. I would give them 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selena Hunt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
None of the reviews that I read have mentioned that the process of soaking the raisins in the eggs and vanilla infuses them with the vanilla flavor that you can really taste in the cookie. Because I think this is what makes these cookies so special, I was wondering what you do if you are using chocolate chips instead of raisins? Nothing to soak...just combine the egg and vanilla for an hour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome!!! I do half butter and half shortening. No need to refrigerate... I also add some baking powder.. Great tasting cookie..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States