Grandmother's Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
The muffins had a good taste, but the tops were soft and sticky, instead of firm and crunchy, and they didn't brown much, even though I had to extend the baking time 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made these for Saturday morning coffee at my Grandma's. I added raspberries and chocolate chips to them. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
this is a great basic muffin recipe. i add 2 ripe bananas to give it more flavor ( plus the batter was kinda thin) probably about a 1/2 cup each of raisins, dried cranberries and walnuts and swapped the butter for strawberry applesauce to give even more flavor and make it healthier. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I loved these! I added a teensy bit more flour to thicken the batter a bit more to my liking and also added a little ground cinnamon...but wow! I will definitely make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These were great! I followed the recipe exactly, and didn't have any problems with the batter being thin. I think next time I'll add chocolate chips or blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These muffins were quite good. I went with 2 cups of flour bc the mix seemed too runny. I also added a little bit of lemon zest, some chocolate chips, and some sliced almonds. Great for breakfast, which is what I intend to do with them. I used large muffin pans and made 8 instead of 12, cooking them for 35 min. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Was looking for a good basic muffin recipe and this one blew me out of the water. The BEST Vanilla muffin recipe I've had! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I don't think I'd make these again. For starters, the batter is too runny. The texture just wasn't correct in the end, there wasn't a fine crumb, just a rubbery feel to the muffin. I had to extend the bake time, which I don't discredit the recipe for, as all ovens are different. However, the tops remained soft and sticky. It just wasn't appetizing. The flavor itself was good for a plain muffin, but there are better textured muffin recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
excellent!! I was looking for a basic muffin recipe, that I could add to anything I had on hand (chocolate chips, dried fruit, nuts etc). This one is perfect! The only modification I made was 2 cups of flour instead of 1 3/4. Also, I made a batch following the instructions carefully, and another batch where I mixed the 2 eggs with the sugar, butter and vanilla all together, then added the milk, then the flour. Both batches came out exactly the same- so no need to follow all those steps.. :). Muffins came out nice and fluffy, with a crispy top- just excellent! Will sure keep as a favorite! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great base recipe. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States