Grandmother's Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I usually don't bother to write any comments, but wow, I just wanted to thank you for sharing your recipe! It came out perfectly perfect! Crispy on top and very soft, moist and fluffy inside - can't believe I was able to do this at home! (I substituted butter to Crisco shortening and white sugar to brown suger for being health conscious.) I look forward to adding fruits, nuts and chocolate next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maikodadz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cagayan De Oro, Misamis Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I just made this recipe today. I added blueberries and a mashed very ripe banana. Very light and tasty! Made muffin tops that were perfect! I will be using this recipe from now on! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
These are a good base recipe, a little bland even after adding cinnamon, raisins, zucchini, nuts, and a banana. It also made 12 HUGE muffins. Next time I'll halve the recipe and make 9 muffins out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by countrygirl
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is a very good basic muffin recipe. I did use 2 cups flour per others suggestions. I added pitted, halved cherries. Whenever I use cherries, I substitute almond extract for vanilla. I'm looking forward to trying this recipe with other fruits and flavors. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
i added some freshly ground nutmeg, 1tsp cinnamon, 1tsp ginger powder and a chopped apple with a small bit of cranberries. I loved it! This recipe is an exellent base for muffins so that you can explore more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
They were ok. They were more like a cake than a muffin. My 17 year old liked them. He said they were in between a cake and a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Best muffins ever! I loved it! if you add a couple strawberry's they will taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
These are really light and melt in your mouth! The batter is pretty runny, but if you really let the beater fluff up the mix, almost like meringue, they come out airy and just sweet enough. I used an ice cream scoop to fill the cups to have minimal deflate to the batter. I also added blueberries to half the muffins but the batter is so light they all sank to the bottoms of the cups, which is okay I guess, but next time I may do a quick chop on the blueberries to see if they will stay suspended in the batter a bit better. Great with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These muffins were okay...I increased the flour to almost two cups and added a dash of cinnamon and almost a cup of mini chocolate chips. They were done in 25 minutes. I doubt I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Very simple to make and very good. I made them yesterday and I followed the recipe except I added a little more than 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips. It was the perfect amount. Very easy to make I am turning 11 and I made them haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States