Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AJoyfulheart
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I made this in my 5th grade class and lived it! I copied the recipe and used it ever since. I lost the recipe and just found it here ! I was so excited! The only thing I changed in the recipe was that I omitted the raisins. It still turns out good in my own opinion! An awesome sweet and tart combination that leaves your taste buds wanting more!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made this a couple days ago for Christmas brunch and everyone raved about it. I used fresh oj (took about 5 oranges). I followed the suggestion to blend the sugar and softened butter together, then added the egg and blended again, then added the OJ and zest. I increased the zest to 1 tablespoon because I love the flavor. I decreased the raisins to about 3/4 cup but kept the cranberries at a cup and a half. I baked in a glass 9x5x3 and the bread came out perfectly. It was not dry or crumbly and I felt it had a nice cranberry flavor. My dad said it was the best he'd had (not that he's biased or anything). I'm saving this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I made two of these last night and they are by far the best cranberry bread I've had! So easy and so delicious. Cooked perfectly at 70 minutes! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I have made this several times and it always comes out moist, flavorful and simply perfect. It keeps well and stays moist to the last slice. Grandma's famous cranberry bread is becoming a holiday tradition in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Amazingly I followed the recipe as written except I did not chop my cranberries. I would never have thought to combine raisins and cranberries but they work well together both for taste and appearance. I must assume all those who complained about the bread crumbling did not cut the butter into the flour sugar mixture sufficiently. Both the baking time and temperature worked for me, although I did put a piece of foil over the top at about the halfway point of baking so the top didn't over-brown. All in all, this is a lovely holiday treat that I will include with my other homemade gifts. Thank you Mim Harris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Used another reviewer suggestion -"I heated the OJ and then put my cranberries and golden raisins in this to let them soften. I then added the butter and beaten egg to this mixture (the butter was already soft and melted in this warm mixture) and mixed well. I added this mixture to the dry ingredients and poured into 2 pans and baked for 40-45 mins (must check, but they came out perfectly baked in my oven in 44-45 mins). I used fresh cranberries, I didn't use raisins, and baked for 45 mins. Loaves were not too sweet and did not fall apart when sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Amazing! I'll be making this one alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
i just tried this recipe and the taste was amazing, not to mention the aroma! it filled my kitchen and house like a cozy blanket:) too good, only problem is the bread crumbles ALOT when i cut it. any tips on how to improve that???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Made this last nigh, and for me, it's just ok. A bit dense, maybe I over mixed it....the flavor is quite mild, barely taste the orange. I took another reviewers suggestion and warmed the orange juice then added the raisins and cranberries to the juice. It did not fall apart. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Wonderful recipe, great taste, a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States