Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This recipe has been a Thanksgiving family tradition since my mom and I found it in a children's book 35 years ago. Young kids might also like the book (Cranberry Thanksgiving.) The recipe is easy and quick, at least if you have a food processor or blender for the cranberries. 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts makes a nice addition to a loaf. Cooking times vary widely based on the juiciness of the fruit; use the cooking time as a starting point, then test with a toothpick inserted into the center of each loaf. (If it comes out clean, the loaf is done.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
Wow! What an amazing mix of tastes! The loaf was gone quick at Thanksgiving dinner. Best when it's had time to sit for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
This is a very heavy thick bread, but very very good. It will become one of my holiday regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
The bread was thick and heavy and just a little bit dry-but has a delicious blend of flavors and it is a perfect accompaniment with tea -my friends loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
AMAZING! I never rate recipes...but THIS ONE WAS WORTH THE TIME! I doubled the recipe and put it into 3 foil pans for gifts. I also substituted chopped dried apricots for the raisins...really good! Thanks for sharing a great family "secret". This one goes in the "Tried and True" file! Thank you thank you thank you! JennBinAK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Barnlund

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
I substitute all cranberries for the raisins and the result is a moist, delicious bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Wonderful! Whenever I make it, lots of people want the recipe. One co-worker said it is the best cranberry bread he's ever eaten. And one woman was overheard telling another, "You gotta try this cranberry bread; it has orange in it!" A very consistent and dependable recipe. Very easy to make if you have a food processor for the cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I had this recipe as a child, but we lost it in a house fire. It was so nice to surprise my family with it this Christmas! I make it all cranberry, and it is fantastic...the orange really adds a special zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
this is an interesting combination of flavors that would be perfect with your afternoon cup of tea. it's a colorful loaf and would look perfect with a few Christmas cookies. i think this would make a beautiful loaf of fruit bread to bring to Christmas dinner. Thank you for sharing! What a nice change from the traditional pumpkin or banana breads I always make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I made 4 loaves to give as Christmas gifts and it was a huge hit! It is moist, and very flavorful. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States