Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I too remember this recipe and i searched for a long time to try and locate it. This is the best cranberry bread that i have ever tasted and my best friend begs me to bake her a loaf all the time. the only thing i change is that i omit the rasins and add more cranberries : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This bread is a fall-season tradition in my family... we've been making it since we read the book "Cranberry Thanksgiving" 25 years ago. I've made it fat-free by using non-fat plain yogurt instead of butter. I also use whole wheat pastry flour and instead of orange peel, 1 tsp of orange extract. I always use the fresh cranberries, and I use dried cranberries in place of raisins. My neighbor has asked me to bring this bread to her holiday open house - it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
AMAZING! I never rate recipes...but THIS ONE WAS WORTH THE TIME! I doubled the recipe and put it into 3 foil pans for gifts. I also substituted chopped dried apricots for the raisins...really good! Thanks for sharing a great family "secret". This one goes in the "Tried and True" file! Thank you thank you thank you! JennBinAK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Barnlund

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
After reading the reviews, I wanted to make sure my bread didn't crumble, so the only changes I made were in procedure and not ingredients. I heated the OJ and then put my cranberries and golden raisins in this to let them soften. I then added the butter and beaten egg to this mixture (the butter was already soft and melted in this warm mixture) and mixed well. I added this mixture to the dry ingredients and poured into 2 pans and baked for 40-45 mins (must check, but they came out perfectly baked in my oven in 44-45 mins). Smelled fabulous and tasted even better. No crumbling at all. This procedural change is from a different recipe on this site, and worked very well here (and I don't like cutting butter into dry ingredients, anyway). Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Very good flavor. The first loaf I made fell apart though when I flipped it over to cool onto the rack. The second time, I really greased the pan well and decreased the temp about 10 degrees and cooked it 10 minutes less. Came out perfectly brown & moist and didn't fall apart!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
I substitute all cranberries for the raisins and the result is a moist, delicious bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
Wow! What an amazing mix of tastes! The loaf was gone quick at Thanksgiving dinner. Best when it's had time to sit for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I agree with some of the other reviewers on this...cooked on the outside, not done on the inside even tho' a toothpick came out clean. And it fell apart. There was too much stuff...maybe only a cup each of raisins and cranberries would work. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I never thought of making a cranberry bread before, until a friend requested I make one. I gave this one a try and she LOVED it. I make alot of breads and don't enjoy "cutting" in butter. I creamed the butter & sugar until light, added egg & orange zest & OJ until well combined then added dry ingredients. Quick breads are like muffins you do not want to mix too long, just until combined. I stirred in cranberries and walnuts (some family members have issues with raisins) by hand. Mine baked up in about 55 minutes. Very moist, very flavorful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I made it without the raisins. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States