Grandmother's Famous Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Terrific recipe, easy to make and absolutely scrumptious if you like fruit. I used no orange extract and black rather than golden raisins, only a cup rather than one and one half. Had a feeling a cup and a half would be too much. My oven runs fast, so after I noticed the loaf firming up, I began checking it every five minutes with a clean knife. Sure enough, after sixty minutes rather than seventy, it was done. If there's a better cranberry bread anywhere, I've never tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Amazing!!!!!!!!! First cranberry bread and my fiancee and kids love it!!!!! I did 3 cups of fresh cranberries that's it and everything else to the T.. And for sure will make again.. Thank you for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foody320

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Just delicious! I had purchased several packages of cranberries during the holidays and this is my favorite recipe to make with them. The golden raisins add just the right balance. I substitute 1/2 whole-wheat flour to make it a bit healthier and it comes out fine this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I never thought of making a cranberry bread before, until a friend requested I make one. I gave this one a try and she LOVED it. I make alot of breads and don't enjoy "cutting" in butter. I creamed the butter & sugar until light, added egg & orange zest & OJ until well combined then added dry ingredients. Quick breads are like muffins you do not want to mix too long, just until combined. I stirred in cranberries and walnuts (some family members have issues with raisins) by hand. Mine baked up in about 55 minutes. Very moist, very flavorful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a wonderfuly delicious recipe. Easy too! I make 6 loaves at a time and its perfect every time. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I used dark rasins, and half whole wheat flour. It is so much like a fruit cake that it is not funny. Really great, I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Loved this. I used 1/2 wheat 1/2 white flour, Earth Balance instead of butter, and boiled the raisins (2 cups 1 cup currants) in the OJ. I added some extra juice (I used whole foods OJ w/peach and mango) in order make the batter pour and used extract instead of zest. I cooked this at 375 (by accident) and it was done in about 55 minutes with a nice browned crust. The flavor is really good and it's a very moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
After reading the reviews, I wanted to make sure my bread didn't crumble, so the only changes I made were in procedure and not ingredients. I heated the OJ and then put my cranberries and golden raisins in this to let them soften. I then added the butter and beaten egg to this mixture (the butter was already soft and melted in this warm mixture) and mixed well. I added this mixture to the dry ingredients and poured into 2 pans and baked for 40-45 mins (must check, but they came out perfectly baked in my oven in 44-45 mins). Smelled fabulous and tasted even better. No crumbling at all. This procedural change is from a different recipe on this site, and worked very well here (and I don't like cutting butter into dry ingredients, anyway). Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour...made it lighter and really moist. Used craisins and put a dash of cinnamon in it, as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
We found this recipe at the end of a children's book and my kids and I have made it every year since then. We like to substitute dark chocolate chips for the raisins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States