Grandmother's Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
The citrus notes are delightful-I substituted lime zest for the lemon, and the result was quite satisfactory. I definitely agree that the baking time or temp needs to be reduced, since I had to shave all the sides off since they were nicely burnt. I ended up having way too much filling; I don't know if that was a personal problem or a recipe issue. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Well this was a lot of work! But it was my first homemade cheesecake, so maybe they are all like this. It turned out very good. The crust, however, was very overcooked. Next time I am going to skip the first part of baking the crust, or cut the time in half, because the crust in the end was a dark brown and dry. The cheesecake baked well though, and had a very light taste and texture. Very good, but again, a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious! My husbad ate half the cheesecake in one evening, while I finished the remainder off by lunch the next day! Now that I've found this cheesecake,I better up my workouts to twice a day... :-P Thanks again for this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This cheesecake is very good. I had the same trouble with the top getting a bit too brown. I also found the crust a bit hard to handle. My cheesecake didn't cook through 100% but I feel that might be the fault of my oven. Overall, very tasty (though one can't eat too much at once!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
This cheesecake is delicious. I only gave it 4 stars because 500 degrees for 15 minutes made the top of the cheesecake very brown, almost burnt. I had to cover the top with foil. Next time I'll try it at 400 degrees. Also I didn't bother with the pastry trimmings as stated in step 5, I used almost all of it in step one.This makes it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Next to Lindsy Newyork cheesecake this come next. This cheesecake is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This is the best cheesecake, it is the same as the famous "Lindy's" cheesecake from New York City.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This recipie was great!!! Using a graham cracker crust rather that the one given is great also! a little less citrus zest as well 1 tsp is all! But iver all delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States