Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I thought this cornbread was really good. Yes, it's sweet and yes I am from the south miss lady. So to say that no true southerner would put sugar in it is just silly. And yes, it's sweet, it says in the title it's sweet. Y'all need to stop being so negative. If you didn't want sweet cornbread, why make a recipe that clearly stated it was sweet? You can plainly see how much sugar is in it. And I don't think any person should speak for a whole region of the country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made this exactly by the recipe. It was WONDERFUL! I'm a southerner and my family LOVES good cornbread ....this recipe is not like my Grandmother made but it is DELICIOUS! It's sweet, has a nice crust and, should you have any leftover, it reheats nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
LOVE this cornbread! I serve it with ham and collard greens for an awesome Sunday dinner! The first time I made this, I accidentally added baking powder instead of soda at first; instead of throwing out the batter, I just added in the required amount of baking soda and kept the baking powder addition. Ended up even fluffier and lighter--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Really excellent. By far the best I've ever had homemade, and probably ever. Moist, great crumb, good level of sweetness, formed a great crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Making this for the second time today. Absolutely love it by itself or served over pinto beans. Made no adjustments to the recipe. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
made this on 9/13/14 the only change I made was I used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of the 2/3 cup of sugar in the recipe and I loved it!!! my mom never put sugar in the cornbread and I loved hers but decided to try this and I do not regret it now I know I like cornbread either way this is a very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I have a wheat allergy, so I swapped gluten-free flour for the all-purpose flour. EVERYONE LOVED IT! It is the best cornbread I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I have tried other cornbread recipes and been disappointed. I was not disappointed with this recipe. I used the exact ingredients and followed the recipe exactly (Although, I forgot to set my timer right away, I'm not exactly sure how long I baked this for, but it was closer to 32 minutes than the 40) and it turned out perfect. It was simple and the cleanup was easy. The taste was very close to the fresh cornbread products I'm used to from good bakeries, etc. and the density and moisture were perfect. My family truly enjoyed this recipe and is asking for it with chili. I don't feel this is sweet, but I will try maybe what folks are calling "a true southern recipe" for cornbread and see if I notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Delicious. Moist. Had great texture and not overly crumbly as my previous favorite cornbread recipe was. This is my new favorite recipe. I did not have buttermilk on hand so I substituted 1/4 cup milk plus 3/4 cup plain yogurt. It made the dough thicker but worked very well. Next time I'll double this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This recipe was absolutely fantastic! The batter tasted sweeter that I usually like but once baked the sweetness was bang on perfect! I put the batter into muffin cups, it filled 15 and sprinkled a few kernels of corn ontop, baked for 33 minutes at 375 . I will never use my old recipe again, thank you so much"grandma" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States