Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Awesomest thing ever!!! ??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Fabulous!!! Best cornbread I have had. I made it in my Cast Iron skillet that gave it a wonderful crust. I have recommended this recipe to a lot of family and friends and everyone Loves it! A must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
A great recipe for a traditional cornbread! I never have buttermilk around, so I just take one cup of regular milk (minus 2 TBS) and add 2 TBS white vinegar--stir the mixture and let it sit while you prep all the rest of the ingredients. I've also added in other ingredients, depending on what I'm serving this with: chopped jalapenos, diced green chiles, and green onions are all great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
We have made this recipe many, many times and love it! We always make it just like the recipe says. My son recently had to give up dairy products, however, so we just made it tonight with oil instead of butter and almond milk with a little bit of lemon juice instead of the buttermilk. It still turned out amazing, every bit as good as when we've followed the recipe. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This recipe was perfect!!!!! I would not change a thing. It came out exactly as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharonda Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mbstrawn
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Wow, perfect cornbread recipe! I am from Georgia and LOVE cornbread and this one completely hit the spot. The only slight changes I made were that I browned the butter and added chopped jalapeños (in vinegar). For me, it was the perfect amount of sweet (especially with the spicy from the jalapeños). They turned out beautifully too and were so moist on the inside! Perfection. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbstrawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Made this with a chili recipe and it was devoured. Great recipe will definitely keep it in my recipe box anytime chili is on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I loved this recipe I did reduce the sugar by half so I only used a third of a cup based on prior reviews....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
A delicious dressing that is the perfect addition to any salad. We ate right after eating, and all was fine. It was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitten lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I normally don't like cornbread, but this recipe was fantastic! I made it with half whole wheat flour and half all purpose, and the texture and density was superb. I also did all the mixing and baking in just one cast iron skillet. My cornbread was done in about 25 minutes. I also added a honey and butter glaze once it was done. This will definitely be my main cornbread dish from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,721) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States