Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Great recipe! Family loved it. We even ate the last few pieces the next day as a snack, and it was almost like cake. I had to substitute a little of the buttermilk for regular milk, but it was still delicious. Will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Used skim milk it's all I had. Was weired out about a stick of butter but this is the BEST cornbread I have ever eaten!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I made a double batch of this recipe to bake in 2 separate 8" pans. Before pouring into the pans, I tasted the batter and this is definitely a SWEET cornbread! I made a 3rd batch, omitting the sugar altogether, to stir into the double batch of batter I made. This, of course, cut down the sweetness. I divided the batter up into 3 pans, baked as directed & the bread came out moist with a crisp crust. I will use this recipe again, but will only use 1/4 cup to only 2 Tbls of sugar....just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I make it this way and also gluten free. To do gluten free I use 2 cups of corn meal and add 1 tsp baking soda and the 1 tsp baking powder so it rises. Sometimes I make it with salted butter and cut the salt to 1/4 tsp and it tastes even better with the salted butter. I love this recipe and have made it around 10 times or more. I have even added blueberries one time. You can make it with brown sugar too or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jzviolin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikkitn
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Made exactly as is- first time, doubled the recipe and it turned out great, even the bake time was exact. Also put these in greased muffin tins for serving sizes and it was a huge hit! Thanks for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Yuuuuummmmyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I just found this recipe. It is the best ever! I added tripled the recipe & added 1 diced red and green jalapeño. It was just enough bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami McNea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I thought this cornbread was really good. Yes, it's sweet and yes I am from the south miss lady. So to say that no true southerner would put sugar in it is just silly. And yes, it's sweet, it says in the title it's sweet. Y'all need to stop being so negative. If you didn't want sweet cornbread, why make a recipe that clearly stated it was sweet? You can plainly see how much sugar is in it. And I don't think any person should speak for a whole region of the country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made this exactly by the recipe. It was WONDERFUL! I'm a southerner and my family LOVES good cornbread ....this recipe is not like my Grandmother made but it is DELICIOUS! It's sweet, has a nice crust and, should you have any leftover, it reheats nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
LOVE this cornbread! I serve it with ham and collard greens for an awesome Sunday dinner! The first time I made this, I accidentally added baking powder instead of soda at first; instead of throwing out the batter, I just added in the required amount of baking soda and kept the baking powder addition. Ended up even fluffier and lighter--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,771) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States