Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is the recipe you want, just good basic cornbread. I skipped the saucepan step and melted the butter in the microwave for one minute in a mixing bowl. Then I and added all the ingredients to that bowl. Made clean up even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
So good. slightly sweet, very moist with a crisp crust. Very easy to make. Followed instructions and came out beautifully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I have made this recipe EXCLUSIVELY since trying it a number of years ago. I have made cornbread using many recipes in the last 60 years...this always turns out wonderful and is gone in a flash. I also use it for cornbread stuffing, yummy! Love allrecipes ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I thought that this cornbread recipe was great. I am a born and bred Tennessee girl and I loved this recipe! Also, many of us "true" Southerners DO put sugar in our cornbread. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Fantastic. I was a little heavy handed with the flour and when all was mixed together it was a bit dryer than I thiiu it should be so I added a touch more of buttermilk and it was fine I just baked it for 35 minutes and it came out perfect. It is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This came out great! Very easy - doubled the recipe and put in an 9x11 dish. Cook time was around 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is a great cornbread recipe. I've never had such great luck with any other recipe. Especially as written. I usually think that with my modifications it would be better. But this is perfect. With that being said, if you plan on eating this with any sort of sweet topping, like honey butter, cut some of the sugar. It's exceptionally sweet on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
No complaints AT ALL! I loved it! It's been a while since I've tasted cornbread this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Small

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out terrific. Like some others, I added 1/2 of a can of cream-style corn to the listed ingredients and made it in a cast iron skillet. Twenty-five minutes in the oven and it was moist and delicious. Now this transplant northern girl can please my southern husband with a knock-out cornbread recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,929) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States