Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Southern Belle
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
God bless you for sharing this recipe. I'm a southern cook and a pretty darn good one if I might add. I know my way around a kitchen, and so does your grandmother. This is hands down the best cornbread that I've ever eaten. It actually rivals the cornbread that I've had in restaurants. The only adjustment that I made was that I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. That was just the right amount of sweetness for me. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiger
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I loved the recipe! My mom never quite had measurements down, but we definitely make "southern cornbread" this way. My fiancé is very picky and if it doesn't taste like his mom's he doesn't like it. He said it was better. He doesn't know I had a little cheat sheet. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was insanely yummy and moist. I mixed the whole thing on the stove in the baking pan over a low flame and added half a can of creamed corn. I then baked as instructed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Corn bread came out awesome! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetsfiend
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Just added this to my faves!! Added one can of drained corn and about 1/3C of light Mexican cheese blend. Also, decreased the sugar to 1/4C (mom doesn't care for sweet cornbread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Fantastic recipe... wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Yummy recipe. Moist, sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Excellent recipe. i substituted brown sugar for white sugar and used corn flour vs corn meal for a smoother texture. but it came out very good. the true test is when i take it to the office picnic tomorrow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Great as-is, but I've also made it simply with 1 cup Bisquick mix, 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup butter, 1 cup milk, 2 eggs. Winner winner cornbread and chicken dinner!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWMama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I'd never made cornbread before and don't cook much of anything. Tried this bc my bf loves cornbread, and the recipe worked really well for me. I mixed it all in one big pot as Bethany suggested and followed the directions (doubling everything for 2 pans worth)... it was just right, not too sweet and not dry, imho. And the cornbread fan approved! Thanks for an easy cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States