Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by kmdw
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Fantastic. Baked it in my cast iron skillet for 25min. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
My cornbread always turned out horrible until I made this recipe. Thank you so much !!!! I made mine a cupcake pan and they came out great and had a little shorter cook time. Thank you for making me a cornbread rock star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe! It has become my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Definitely a keeper!! I did reduce the sugar to a mounded 1/2 C and increased the cornmeal slightly while equally reducing the amount of flour. I didn't have buttermilk so I used the vinegar and milk trick. I also baked it in a cast iron skillet. Awesome cornbread, didn't crumble, was moist and delicious! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
The best I've ever had-yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made it just like the recipe said and it was wonderful. Not too sweet & very moist...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Winning. My grandfather who claims to make the best cornbread is gonna be mad if I make this around him. My near two year old daughter put one bit in her mouth looked at me and said ummm Shaking her head up and down. A go to recipe for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rose Marie
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I was out of milk for my regular cornbread recipe, but had buttermilk. Ran across this one, decided to give it a try. This cornbread is SO good ! The only thing I did differently is my 2 tsp. baking powder was already added to the dry mixture, but added the baking soda too. Another thing I did; when the butter was fully melted in my Iron Skillet, I poured it into batter, returning to Hot pan. This is the absolutely the best cornbread I've ever made, and here's my picture of it. Love it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is hands down the best corn bread recipe I've ever tried. So delicious and fluffy, and if you don't like it sweet, then cut down a bit on the sugar. This is the second time I've made it in as many days ~. It's a hit with the hubby too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I followed the directions, and it turned out perfectly. Moist, slightly sweet, and delicious. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear4965

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,829) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States