Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
We're not huge fans of cornbread, but that's changed with this recipe! I used about 1/3 wheat flour 2/3 white and decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup without problems. Also used good quality cornmeal, so you can really taste the corn flavor. Thanks for sharing. This is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I'm a Southern girl, this Yankee cornbread is excellent and easy! I poured the batter into a hot greased cast iron skillet and baked for 32 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawkinsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I love this recipe! It turned out great. My oven is weird so I had to cook it for less time but other than that I had no problems and everyone enjoyed it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harvestmoon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Great cornbread recipe. My family loves it. It's a sweet cornbread (which we love) but can be adjusted with results that are just as good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacksmom77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Awesome! My husband is a very picky eater and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I didn't change anything and it turned out really well. This has become my go to recipe for cornbread. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made one batch to go with Venison Chili for Super Bowl Sunday...let's just say there were requests to TRIPLE the recipe next time! Very easy and SO tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clark1tek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I was tired of bland crumbly cornbread so I tried this. It was great. I took it to a family gathering and it was loved by all and I was asked for the recipe. I didn't have buttermilk so I put 1/8 cup of vinegar in measuring cup and filled the rest up with milk and let it set for a few minutes. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Incredible!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Excellent! Like any recipe, you can tweak this one to taste (quit whining about how sweet it is and reduce the sugar . . .) but the base recipe is just right. The end result, if you don't overcook it, is a moist crumb, medium density, delicious corn bread. I served it with sliced avocado, poached eggs and potatoes O'Brien. Comfort food at its best. Next time I'll try adding cheddar and jalapeños, maybe some corn kernels. Can't wait to experiment. Thank you, Bethany's grandmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States