Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I have tried other cornbread recipes and been disappointed. I was not disappointed with this recipe. I used the exact ingredients and followed the recipe exactly (Although, I forgot to set my timer right away, I'm not exactly sure how long I baked this for, but it was closer to 32 minutes than the 40) and it turned out perfect. It was simple and the cleanup was easy. The taste was very close to the fresh cornbread products I'm used to from good bakeries, etc. and the density and moisture were perfect. My family truly enjoyed this recipe and is asking for it with chili. I don't feel this is sweet, but I will try maybe what folks are calling "a true southern recipe" for cornbread and see if I notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Delicious. Moist. Had great texture and not overly crumbly as my previous favorite cornbread recipe was. This is my new favorite recipe. I did not have buttermilk on hand so I substituted 1/4 cup milk plus 3/4 cup plain yogurt. It made the dough thicker but worked very well. Next time I'll double this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This recipe was absolutely fantastic! The batter tasted sweeter that I usually like but once baked the sweetness was bang on perfect! I put the batter into muffin cups, it filled 15 and sprinkled a few kernels of corn ontop, baked for 33 minutes at 375 . I will never use my old recipe again, thank you so much"grandma" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I love sweet cornbread. This is the best recipe that I have found. I did have to reduce the cooking time to about 30 minutes. The first time I made this I just happened to check at 35 minutes and it was already over cooked. Just keep a close eye on it the first time you make it and figure out the correct time for your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I cut the sugar back to 1/2 C., and since I live at an elevation roughly 140 feet above sea level, I baked in over for 25 MINUTES and it came out moist and wonderful !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaMoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Loved it! Easy. Doubled the recipe and cooked it in a 9x13. I made this as directed and it was not too sweet. It was not too cakey and did not fall apart. Just so you know how sweet it is, it is sweet but not as sweet as Jiffy. This is the best recipe ever. Ate it with pulled pork one day and white chicken chili a couple days later. Yum! Thank you, Grandmother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigerlilly5909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was delicious light and fluffy. Easy to make. I cut the sugar down to half a cup and had it with seafood gumbo and brown rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Love this cornbread . It is fast and yummy. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
It's definitely on the sweet side, but super easy and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 3,767) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States