Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I mix in the skillet and stick that sucker right in the oven. This is a sweeter cornbread but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MothraMandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smidget
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
really good recipe. Second time making homemade and family loved it! No more box mix. Thank you for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Stellar recipe!!! Wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Culinary Fanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
very good as is, second time i baked it in my cast iron skillet greased with vegetable oil, I got it hot in the oven while mixing ingredients, poured cornbread mix in hot skillet & baked for 25 minutes @ 375 Perfecto! less sugar is best I think,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This is an awesome recipe. Simple to follow, and gets very consistent results. I'm not from the South so I don't have a problem with it being sweet. I live in Saudi Arabia, so I substitute the buttermilk with what they call "Laban," a type of yogurt-like drink. I also use raw sugar in place of white sugar, but that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Wow! I am impressed. We have significant dietary restrictions in our family, so I tweaked the recipe significantly, yet it still came out fabulous! I subbed rice milk+lemon juice for the buttermilk, applesauce for the sugar, and spelt for the flour. Wow! Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This was Amazingly tasty and easy! We had 2 different cornbreads and the other got thrown out (couldn't compete) and this one went so fast this past weekend that there wasn't a photo opportunity. Will be making again tonight for dinner because I'm totally craving it. No changes and substitutes needed. Perfect Recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Very sweet and I love it! My southern friends and family usually down care for the sweetness of it but I think it's the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I made into muffins. I ended up baking them for about 17 min. I was out of cornmeal so I used polenta, and the texture came out a little odd. But the flavor was delicious, and not too sweet like I originally feared when I first read the recipe. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I dumped it all in one bowl and baked them in muffin tins at 400F for 16 minutes. Came out perfectly soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 4,015) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States