Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made it exactly as the recipe stated except I used margarine rather than butter. I love the one dish only. After reading the reviews I made sure to use a glass dish and to check at 30 minutes. It was super moist, not too sugary like some complained and had a nice light texture to it. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
First time making cornbread and it was amazing!! It was very moist and tasted like something you could get at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I'm not sure what it is, but I've made this twice now, and it always comes out flat. Not at all like the picture. My daughter in law had the same problem. After the second time, I looked at the recipe on the cornmeal package and it called for baking powder not baking soda. Could this be the problem? Nobody else seemed to have this problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Natale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is the best cornbread recipe I've ever tried. I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Far too sweet for my (northern) taste, but my husband LOVED it. I mixed and baked it a big cast iron skillet. Worked perfectly. Toasted a slice in butter on a griddle topped with a fried egg, a delish breakfast. I gave it an extra star because of my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Stayed moist for days!! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otisthorpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Made this with chicken, sausage, and crab gumbo at Christmas. Don't change a thing; it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Very easy, moist, sweet and very nice texture. My first corn bread and it lasted all of 5 minutes in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I've made this recipe about 3 times. It was delicious. I have made an adjustment. Accidentally, I used 1c of self rising flour (doubled the recipe). I went ahead and baked the cornbread and my daughter, who doesn't eat cornbread is now a convert! She said it tasted light and wasn't dry or heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 3,923) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States