Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. I didn't have a cast iron pan so baked in brownie pan. Yum. My 4- year old ate it like it was a cupcake. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I love savory more than sweet, so I use the recipe part to a T, except only 1/4 cup of sugar. Then change up the process a bit. That's why I didn't give it a full 5. For southern style goodness, you want to use the whole stick of butter in the batter, and another 3 Tbsp in your 9" cast iron skillet. Keeps it super moist and, well, buttery! Heat up that extra bit of butter in the pan in the oven while you preheat it and mix the batter in a separate bowl, then carefully pour it into the hot, buttery skillet and bake as directed. The butter will ooze up the sides and over the top of the batter, making a beautiful crust. (If you get interrupted while mixing, though, pull out the pan so you don't scorch your butter.) Also key is the buttermilk...I don't keep that on hand, so I mix a half cup of plain full-fat ("traditional") Greek yogurt with enough whole milk (or even ranch dressing!) to make a cup, then stir in a Tbsp of lemon juice. Then, when you mix in the baking soda, it reacts and foams up really nicely, keeping the bread nice and fluffy. t's also great with some corn or chilis or grated cheese or all of the above...just stir it into the batter before you pour it into the pan. It's dangerous to have this around the house because I find excuses to have just one more piece (warm and toasty with milk or cream soaked in for breakfast? Yes, please!) so before I know it' it's gone and I have to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curryholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This corn bread recipe is amazing. I follow it with no changes nd it is a winner every time!!! Every family get together I am asked to make it. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is the way we like cornbread. Moist, not too grainy, a hint of sweetness, and a perfect ratio of flour to cornmeal. I'm not quite sure I would go to all the trouble making it as written. I whisked the dry ingredients in a large bowl, then added the wet ingredients, folding lightly just until blended. It came out perfect. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This cornbread is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I've probably made this 10 times and my hubby and family love it! I follow it to a T and also mix all the ingredients in the same pot that I've melted the butter in. A couple of friends have commented its more like a cake in terms of sweetness and we do sometimes indulge in a piece after dinner like desert! We enjoy this with a spicy BBQ chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Delicious. You do not need to melt butter in a skillet. Melt it in the microwave on a low cookmatic level in a large bowl and then add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl. I do not like for my cornbread to be overly sweet, so I reduced the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I read a review about being southern and this was not a good corn bread. Well horse hockey.. this is a fabulous recipe. I am born, bred and now retired here in the south. And I have to admit that I never liked cornbread before made any other than the Southern way.... but this is a great recipe. I took a chance cause I like to try new and different recipes and this was sooooo very worth it. I thought it went perfectly with my little, butt portion, ready to eat ham. And for breakfast with milk and warmed a touch in the micro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Perfect. Moist and delicious. Sugar could be adjusted to taste but I followed the recipe exactly and It was amazing. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Best cornbread I've ever had. Used Jiffy corn muffin mix as cornmeal and added 1 can of corn as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 4,001) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States