Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Delicious! I've been looking for quite some time for a perfect corn bread for my taste. They are either too crumbly, dry or not sweet enough for me. I like a moist cornbread with some sweetness to it. I've been married for 34 years and my husband has never liked cornbread. I've tried dozens of recipes over the years. I always just make it for myself because he refuses to eat it. I made a Tex-Mex Chicken casserole the other night and wanted some cornbread to go with it. I thought I would try this recipe. Well, I couldn't believe my ears when my husband not only ate a piece, but asked for seconds. You could have knocked me over. It was moist, held together well and just sweet enough for my taste. My husband even asked me if there was enough left over for tomorrow! He said, this bread is terrific! You can bet this will be the only recipe I will ever use again. Thank you so much for sharing your grandmother's recipe. She is my hero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaT
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Best cornbread ever! I made it per instructions & baked it in a cast iron skillet. So amazing. I could eat it all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Excellent cornbread turned out very moist and golden brown, my only issue is that I did not have apple butter on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wade Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Oh I NEVER write reviews on recipes. After making this corn bread, I feel compelled to register an account to just express how impressed I am!!! This is simply the best tasting corn bread. In fact it has altered my view of how great a piece of corn bread can taste. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Very good, but not amazing. Extremely simple and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Delicious. Had to make my own buttermilk using a lemon. Six people were over for dinner and most of us are from the south (Texas, Oklahoma, Florida). We all loved this recipe. I'm making again tonight. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Great and yummy!!! Kids are normally picky but they loved this and ate it all up! I usually cook like 5 minutes less than what recipes calls for so it does not dry out. I cover it in a container after it cools to retain moisture If we do not eat it right away! Store in a ziplock bag and can eat it all day long ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
The best cornbread recipe I've tried yet! Thank you so much for sharing this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Made as written. Nice even texture and not sweet (maybe add a little bit more sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Kids liked it but I thought it was extremely dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 4,025) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States