Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this for chili cook-off day at work. I made 2 batches, one as is, and one with some roasted red peppers and diced jalapenos for people who like a little more heat. I got a lot of compliments and requests for the recipe AND there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I made this in a bowl instead of the skillet, but with the same order and process. Bethanyweathersby states in her description that this is a sweet cornbread...I am shocked at the negative reviews stating the obvious- that it's sweet. With fresh cornmeal and fresh flour, this turned out better than I could have hoped! This is my new go-to cornbread recipe. Absolutely perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eadaoinfeyth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is awesome! Don't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I stopped making cornbread years ago and seldom get it in a restaurant. It's always been dry as sawdust. This however is absolutely delicious; it's changed my mind at least about a cornbread I can make. This is moist and very flavorful. My husband and son loved it. I highly recommend trying this. To those who say it's not a southern cornbread.....don't make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Just made this its really good but I did cut back on the sugur though but over all this is the best cornbread recipe i've ran into its moist and crunchy on the top thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gimmymore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
It is the best corn bread ever, this recipe is a treasure to keep. It is a winner with my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I've been waiting a long time for a good recipe for cornbread. I tried many and all were too dry. Well, this one was moist, and tasty. I didn't change a thing in the recipe and it turned out great. Can't wait to make some for my sister's birthday party dinner, Cajun style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucille LeBlanc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Well, since a lot of people are commenting on Southerner taste, I guess I will too :) I am a Southerner and I absolutely LOVE this recipe! And so does my family! It's easy to make and so delicious! I cut the butter in half and couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
My husband and I both hate cornbread; unfortunately, that is what we were asked to bring to dinner at a friends. I tried this recipe and everyone LOVED it. When we eat cornbread now it will only be this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very moist and delicious!! Husband says this is the best cornbread he has ever had!! Easy and delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,712) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States