Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
aweseome recipe! we've made only a few small changes. 2/3 cup of sugar is way too much. we use 1/2 and it is still sweet and yummy. at 2/3 is was unpleasant to eat, but 1/2 is perfect. also, we use whole wheat pastry flour in place of the white flour, and i brown the butter before mixing the sugar in. in my oven, it's done in 25 minutes--way less the 40 it takes for grandma. :) and good thing! because this has become my little son's favorite food. he has me make it at least twice a week. thank you for the wonderful recipe! o, and one more thing: instead of buying buttermilk just for this recipe we use 1/2 cup of plain yogurt and 1/2 cup of milk for the liquid. thanks again!! love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Probably the best cornbread ever. Don't over cook it! In my oven a toothpick comes out clean in 25 minutes. No need to bother with melting butter in the pan and making the batter there. I go with the traditional baking method of pre-mixed dry ingredients going into the wet ingredients, making the butter that way by melting it in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EHH73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is exactly what I expected a traditional cornbread to be. I like mine sweeter, which this recipe delivered. Followed recipe to the letter, except for using 2 T vinegar to sour my milk since I didn't have buttermilk. Served along Southern Fried Cabbage, also from this site, which is a great pairing! I will definitely make this cornbread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I reduced the sugar to 2 TB and now it is perfect. Thanks so much for a great recipe I make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Great tasting cornbread and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natahnya Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made this exact for the family once and we all wished there had been more! It's perfect! I always make my cornbread in a cast iron skillet that I preheat with the oven. Then poor the batter straight into the hot skillet! It gives a slight crispness to the outer edge! So yum! And who doesn't love baking in a cast iron! I do like to play, but I didn't change the base of the recipe cause it's perfect! So I've made it several times more adding 3/4-1 cup fresh corn. And another variation was adding diced red pepper and green chilies for a Mexican flare! Love all of it! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great recipe, the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Have made this so many times, always gets great reviews! Kept recipe exactly as listed. I do find with my convection oven bakes fast, so I cut the cook time so it stays moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Ahearn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pella, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I've been looking for a good cornbread recipe for a long time that's not too mushy and not too dry, with lots of flavor. This is it. Perfect the way it is, I love sweet moist cornbread, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I cooked this in a square Pyrex bowl and reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup since i prefer my cornbread less sweet. Any extra butter on the sides of the bread, I brushed over the top when it was done. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,806) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States