Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Best corn bread ever. Would only cut down on the sugar slightly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
really tasty and easy recipe. had a craving for cornbread and decided to give this a try. usually i would just follow a package mix but had a pack of cornmeal on hand and wanted to try from scratch. really nice flavour and texture. usually when i've made cornbread from a mix it's really dry and doesn't have a lot of flavour. this was nice and moist but still had a bit of a crumbly texture. i admit i used less sugar as i never really had sweet cornbread before and wasn't sure and it was great. this will be my cornbread standby recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Turned out perfect...my family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Massengale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I liked this recipe. I thought it would be a tid bit too sweet, but honestly, it is just the right amount of sweetness. I poured the mix in my cupcake pan and had 12 total. I bajed it for 20 minutes. I would not change anything on this recipe. It is good just as is. Now, I will try baking it in my cast iron pan with the suggestions posted by others. I will update on my results! Keeper, keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Made 1xs as listed. Made it 2xs more with only 1/2 c sugar and no problem esp since we like honey butter on the finished product! Very dense and cake like. Nice taste, easy recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Did not change a thing, this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious and addictive. Thank you for sharing. A new favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Weippert

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Tasted great, but they came out really dense. Idk if it's cuz I used a 9x9 pan rather than 8x8 or If it was the recipie/timing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brendan Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Made as written. Unbelievably good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Finally I have the best cornbread recipe and all the others will be thrown out. I was lucky enough to have some fresh buttermilk donated by my sisterinlaw who was then lucky enough to enjoy this outstanding cornbread with us. I added 3/4 cup frozen corn (thawed) and I decreased the sugar a little but next time would put even less sugar, that is, unless I substitute some whole wheat which is an excellent idea. Good to know it freezes well too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salisbury, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,873) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States