Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Awesome! My husband is a very picky eater and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I didn't change anything and it turned out really well. This has become my go to recipe for cornbread. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made one batch to go with Venison Chili for Super Bowl Sunday...let's just say there were requests to TRIPLE the recipe next time! Very easy and SO tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clark1tek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I was tired of bland crumbly cornbread so I tried this. It was great. I took it to a family gathering and it was loved by all and I was asked for the recipe. I didn't have buttermilk so I put 1/8 cup of vinegar in measuring cup and filled the rest up with milk and let it set for a few minutes. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Incredible!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Excellent! Like any recipe, you can tweak this one to taste (quit whining about how sweet it is and reduce the sugar . . .) but the base recipe is just right. The end result, if you don't overcook it, is a moist crumb, medium density, delicious corn bread. I served it with sliced avocado, poached eggs and potatoes O'Brien. Comfort food at its best. Next time I'll try adding cheddar and jalapeños, maybe some corn kernels. Can't wait to experiment. Thank you, Bethany's grandmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This Cornbread is the REAL DEAL. I left out the baking soda because it make the cornbread to white in the end. You want it to be buttery and have that cornmeal color as the finish product. The buttermilk adds so much flavor, and after it's done spread some butter on the top for added flavor and shine, so delicious. My son loves this cornbread every time i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layummy
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious! Hit with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe! Perfect exactly as it is, no changes for me and my bunch. I love a sweeter cornbread and the texture is wonderful, no dry cornbread for this gal. The hubs told the kids it was just like what his grandma used to make esp baking it in the cast iron skillet. Thank you so much for sharing it is now the ONLY recipe I use! ~the happy cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delicious!! Cooked in my cast iron pan, like my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerlo, New York, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,986) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States