Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is the very best cornbread,(moist) I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is my "go to" cornbread for nearly every family gathering. My husband smokes a lot of meat (ribs, pulled pork, chicken) and this recipe, along with the sweet restaurant coleslaw round out the menu perfectly. Its a nice moist bread that is easily adjusted for the amount of sweetness you want or don't want. I always make extra & we rarely have any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Kruger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is delish!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Quinn Melvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
DELICIOUS!!!! No changes needed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Awesomest thing ever!!! ??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Fabulous!!! Best cornbread I have had. I made it in my Cast Iron skillet that gave it a wonderful crust. I have recommended this recipe to a lot of family and friends and everyone Loves it! A must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
A great recipe for a traditional cornbread! I never have buttermilk around, so I just take one cup of regular milk (minus 2 TBS) and add 2 TBS white vinegar--stir the mixture and let it sit while you prep all the rest of the ingredients. I've also added in other ingredients, depending on what I'm serving this with: chopped jalapenos, diced green chiles, and green onions are all great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
We have made this recipe many, many times and love it! We always make it just like the recipe says. My son recently had to give up dairy products, however, so we just made it tonight with oil instead of butter and almond milk with a little bit of lemon juice instead of the buttermilk. It still turned out amazing, every bit as good as when we've followed the recipe. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This recipe was perfect!!!!! I would not change a thing. It came out exactly as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharonda Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mbstrawn
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Wow, perfect cornbread recipe! I am from Georgia and LOVE cornbread and this one completely hit the spot. The only slight changes I made were that I browned the butter and added chopped jalapeños (in vinegar). For me, it was the perfect amount of sweet (especially with the spicy from the jalapeños). They turned out beautifully too and were so moist on the inside! Perfection. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbstrawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,765) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States