Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is my absolute go to recipe. I like to make it in a cast iron skillet. I place the pan in the oven while it preheats along with the stick of butter until the butter melts then I follow the directions as written. The bake time in the preheated skillet results in a 25-30 minute cook time and a light bread with a crispy, buttery bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
this is sooo good! I love the sweetness and consistency of the cornbread and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was great. Everyone raved. I grilled 2 cobs of corn and added the kernels. It added the wow factor. I also doubled the recipie and baked in a 9 by 13 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasmeen Weik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe so many times now. It is definitely my go-to cornbread recipe. I love that it's all mixed up in a pan before baking. Makes for a super easy, quick, and delicious add-on for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
So delicious... For a treat! I'll need to play around with the recipe to reduce the guilt factor, but this is definitely delicious. I used 1 cup self rising corn meal so I reduced the baking soda and salt by half; I also used white wheat flour and 2% milk because that is what I had. Beautiful rise, texture and color! Only baked for 30 minutes in a 9x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This is a very delicious cornbread! Super moist and easy to make. For the record, I am a southern and this cornbread rock! I hate tasteless dry cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Wow! I normally READ the reviews without contributing. However, this deserves RAVES!! AS I'm sure so many other recipes do on this site. This one sent me right here. It's just the right texture (I'm all about texture) delicate sweetness and density. I made bundt muffins with this recipe and they were delectable. My hubby had his with honey (yikes!) but nevertheless, mighty good! Can't go wrong with this one ladies and gents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jholl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Yuriko Yoneda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is the very best cornbread,(moist) I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is my "go to" cornbread for nearly every family gathering. My husband smokes a lot of meat (ribs, pulled pork, chicken) and this recipe, along with the sweet restaurant coleslaw round out the menu perfectly. Its a nice moist bread that is easily adjusted for the amount of sweetness you want or don't want. I always make extra & we rarely have any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Kruger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,761) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States