Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
This is my family's favorite cornbread recipe. I don't change a thing. It's the perfect accompaniment to chili or barbecue or fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Amazing recipe!!! I will NEVER use a box mix again! Sorry Jiffy... I add Velvetta and Jalepenos for an even better flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I used a cast iron skillet, that's the way my grandmother said, lol, +no need for a tooth pick, when the sides break away from the skillet, then its ready, oh yes no sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Instead of the 2/3 cup of sugar I subtracted about 2 tablespoons. I used the plain milk with lemon juice trick to sub for buttermilk (never a problem before). I used a mini muffin tin and had enough batter left for a small ramkin. I baked at 360 (reduced heat slightly since they were mini muffins) for about 25 mins. The bottoms were over done, while the rest was ok. After cooling, the muffins were rock hard!!! They also had no taste! I think I will stick to this sites "Best Corn Muffins Ever" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This is definitely a five star recipe! We make this recipe all the time! I make it in a pre-heated cast iron skillet and bake it for 25 minutes. It gets the perfect golden brown crust. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This recipe was awesome! It went very well with chili. My family also ate the leftover for breakfast the next day! I doubled the recipe and baked it in a glass 9 x 13 inch pan for 30 minutes... Not dry at all! This was a wonderful recipe that I will be making again soon! *Note: I am from the Northeast, and while this isn't what some call "Southern" cornbread, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
The best. Got wonderful reviews from family and friends at dinner tonight. Did not change anything on the directions. Next time I will preheat a cast iron skillet before adding the batter. Will make again soon to use up the buttermilk from this batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
The best, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
First, I would like to thank the chef and Granny. I have made this cornbread for an elderly "southern" gentleman who is in poor health. He doesn't want to eat anything except this bread. I am glad I found this recipe...I makes him very happy! My family and I have enjoyed it also. The only thing I do different is beat the eggs prior to putting in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Brilliant Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anika Farha

Displaying results 11-20 (of 4,036) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States