Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Since I had split pea soup going in the crock pot for dinner tonight, I was thinking about how good cornbread bread would be with it, so as soon as I got home from work, I searched for a moist cornbread recipe and found this one. Didn't have any buttermilk, so I used half sour cream & half milk. I also cut the sugar down a little and added hunks of cheese to it. I loved it! Good recipe! I do not care for dry cornbread and this was nice & moist. Thanks, Bethany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this as stated and it was great! I had to watch the cooking time since my oven is a little hot, but the toothpick trick worked perfectly. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I've adapted it into a gluten free version and everyone who ever tries it absolutely loves it. I've also made the recipe exactly as is and it is wonderful. The only thing that really needs to be changed is to add eggs slowly while whisking very quickly. If you add the eggs quickly, you'll get solid bits of egg in your cornbread. To make gluten free: swap out all purpose flour for a gluten free flour blend (I make my own) Add 1tsp xanthan gum. Whisk this into the flour blend before adding. My own special twist: Swap out half of the butter for coconut oil. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Best cornbread recipe I've found! Gets rave reviews at every potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This makes a really good corn cake. My husband loved it for dessert. Really good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Delicious! I don't make any other cornbread any more and often eat the whole batch myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this for chili cook-off day at work. I made 2 batches, one as is, and one with some roasted red peppers and diced jalapenos for people who like a little more heat. I got a lot of compliments and requests for the recipe AND there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I made this in a bowl instead of the skillet, but with the same order and process. Bethanyweathersby states in her description that this is a sweet cornbread...I am shocked at the negative reviews stating the obvious- that it's sweet. With fresh cornmeal and fresh flour, this turned out better than I could have hoped! This is my new go-to cornbread recipe. Absolutely perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eadaoinfeyth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is awesome! Don't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I stopped making cornbread years ago and seldom get it in a restaurant. It's always been dry as sawdust. This however is absolutely delicious; it's changed my mind at least about a cornbread I can make. This is moist and very flavorful. My husband and son loved it. I highly recommend trying this. To those who say it's not a southern cornbread.....don't make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States