Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Winning. My grandfather who claims to make the best cornbread is gonna be mad if I make this around him. My near two year old daughter put one bit in her mouth looked at me and said ummm Shaking her head up and down. A go to recipe for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rose Marie
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I was out of milk for my regular cornbread recipe, but had buttermilk. Ran across this one, decided to give it a try. This cornbread is SO good ! The only thing I did differently is my 2 tsp. baking powder was already added to the dry mixture, but added the baking soda too. Another thing I did; when the butter was fully melted in my Iron Skillet, I poured it into batter, returning to Hot pan. This is the absolutely the best cornbread I've ever made, and here's my picture of it. Love it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is hands down the best corn bread recipe I've ever tried. So delicious and fluffy, and if you don't like it sweet, then cut down a bit on the sugar. This is the second time I've made it in as many days ~. It's a hit with the hubby too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I followed the directions, and it turned out perfectly. Moist, slightly sweet, and delicious. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear4965

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Made this cornbread yesterday.....it wasn't as moist as I had hoped, put oven 5 degrees less than specified due to my oven being very hot - also, cornbread by nature isn't the most moist bread to begin with. Wasn't too sweet at all - was expecting it to be super sweet because of the comments - the sweetness was perfect. Would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTTISH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
So moist and delish so good with chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I have used this recipe many times. My family loves it. I live it the south but I like my cornbread sweet. Most of the cornbread you get in around here is not very good at all and very dry tasting. Also instead of all purpose flour and baking powder I just use 1 cup of self rising flour and it comes out perfect. Thank you so much for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
My wife and boys loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I've been baking cornbread for over 30 years and decided to make this tonight to go with red beans and rice. My family and I agree this is absolutely the best cornbread I've ever made. I didnt change a thing, followed recipe exactly. This is going to become my go-to recipe from now on. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Awesome! Light and sweet, was a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,873) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States