Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Very good, but not amazing. Extremely simple and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Delicious. Had to make my own buttermilk using a lemon. Six people were over for dinner and most of us are from the south (Texas, Oklahoma, Florida). We all loved this recipe. I'm making again tonight. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Great and yummy!!! Kids are normally picky but they loved this and ate it all up! I usually cook like 5 minutes less than what recipes calls for so it does not dry out. I cover it in a container after it cools to retain moisture If we do not eat it right away! Store in a ziplock bag and can eat it all day long ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
The best cornbread recipe I've tried yet! Thank you so much for sharing this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Made as written. Nice even texture and not sweet (maybe add a little bit more sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Kids liked it but I thought it was extremely dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very good. I made 3 different recipes on one night. This one was the best to my taste, but then I am a "yankee" so the northern (sweet) corn bread was better for me than the souther (no sugar) recipe I made. The kids loved it. Not overly sweet. I made it exactly as the recipe described except I didn't get all the complicated mixing instructions. I just mixed it all and put it in a greased 8x8 pan. Kept it simple. May make it again but will be looking for a less dense recipe more like the Jiffy corn muffin mix but from scratch. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Tried this last night and loved it. The few modifications I made was to melt the butter in the microwave, didn't have any buttermilk at home so I put a tablespoon of white vinegar in a cup of milk and let it sit for 5 minutes, and I cut the sugar down to just half a cup. Was done in 30 minutes and tasted great. It was still moist and the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made it exactly as the recipe stated except I used margarine rather than butter. I love the one dish only. After reading the reviews I made sure to use a glass dish and to check at 30 minutes. It was super moist, not too sugary like some complained and had a nice light texture to it. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
First time making cornbread and it was amazing!! It was very moist and tasted like something you could get at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 4,011) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States