Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I was tired of bland crumbly cornbread so I tried this. It was great. I took it to a family gathering and it was loved by all and I was asked for the recipe. I didn't have buttermilk so I put 1/8 cup of vinegar in measuring cup and filled the rest up with milk and let it set for a few minutes. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Incredible!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Excellent! Like any recipe, you can tweak this one to taste (quit whining about how sweet it is and reduce the sugar . . .) but the base recipe is just right. The end result, if you don't overcook it, is a moist crumb, medium density, delicious corn bread. I served it with sliced avocado, poached eggs and potatoes O'Brien. Comfort food at its best. Next time I'll try adding cheddar and jalapeños, maybe some corn kernels. Can't wait to experiment. Thank you, Bethany's grandmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This Cornbread is the REAL DEAL. I left out the baking soda because it make the cornbread to white in the end. You want it to be buttery and have that cornmeal color as the finish product. The buttermilk adds so much flavor, and after it's done spread some butter on the top for added flavor and shine, so delicious. My son loves this cornbread every time i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layummy
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious! Hit with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe! Perfect exactly as it is, no changes for me and my bunch. I love a sweeter cornbread and the texture is wonderful, no dry cornbread for this gal. The hubs told the kids it was just like what his grandma used to make esp baking it in the cast iron skillet. Thank you so much for sharing it is now the ONLY recipe I use! ~the happy cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delicious!! Cooked in my cast iron pan, like my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerlo, New York, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I love this recipe. I live in the south, and for those who scowl at this recipe for having sugar in it, because no true southerner would add sugar to cornbread, I have this to say. I will take this way of making cornbread over the non-sugar way any day. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Delicious! I've been looking for quite some time for a perfect corn bread for my taste. They are either too crumbly, dry or not sweet enough for me. I like a moist cornbread with some sweetness to it. I've been married for 34 years and my husband has never liked cornbread. I've tried dozens of recipes over the years. I always just make it for myself because he refuses to eat it. I made a Tex-Mex Chicken casserole the other night and wanted some cornbread to go with it. I thought I would try this recipe. Well, I couldn't believe my ears when my husband not only ate a piece, but asked for seconds. You could have knocked me over. It was moist, held together well and just sweet enough for my taste. My husband even asked me if there was enough left over for tomorrow! He said, this bread is terrific! You can bet this will be the only recipe I will ever use again. Thank you so much for sharing your grandmother's recipe. She is my hero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaT
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Best cornbread ever! I made it per instructions & baked it in a cast iron skillet. So amazing. I could eat it all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 4,023) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States