Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Yum!! Just took it out of the oven to go with a batch of chili for dinner. I stole a few pinches off the outside crust, and it's wonderful!! Thank you for sharing! I heated a cast iron skillet as I was preheating my oven with a little butter in the bottom and added the batter to that to bake, and it worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Awesome cornbread recipe. Easy to put together, stays moist and tastes great! I Spread a little butter on a slice and it was to die for! I knew I wouldn't have a lot of time, so I prepared the batter the day before a refrigerated it. Took it out and cooked a little bit longer than called for and it was perfect. Served it up with some homemade chili. It really hit the spot. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Absolutely delicious! After reading some reviews I baked it in a greased preheated cast iron fry pan. It needed the 30 minutes, but I lowered the temperature to 325 for the last 10 minutes, as it was getting dry on the edges, but still wet in the centre. A great recipe which will certainly become a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was outstanding. We had several kinds of chili with this cornbread recipe as the side. I doubled the recipe and it was very moist. A keeper for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
The best cornbread on earth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Easy and delicious. Use an iron skillet and cook directly in the oven too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
After making this cornbread numerous times, I decided to give it five stars. Everyone in my family, my friends and neighbors all agree that it's the best they've tried outside of a restaurant. My father in law asked me to give it to his wife! No tweaks, no changes, no substitutions. I do cook the bread in a metal pan, and I've had equally good results using a pre-heated cast iron skillet and a metal cake pan - both greased. This gives it a nice crust on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe as is, and it came out great! Everyone loved them! This will be my cornbread recipe from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
super easy to make and I cannot stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Best Gluten Free cornbread I've ever made!! I changed the "all-purpose flour" with 'Namaste Gluten Free Perfect flour blend' and made sure cornmeal was GF- otherwise followed directions exactly. We've tried many GF cornbread recipes, and by swapping the flour in this one, by far it's the best! We all loved it, including my non-GF teen who said I should make this every week!So moist & fluffy it was amazing- anyone who cooks GF knows getting anything 'fluffy' is difficult -all others I have made were very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States