Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Fabulous-didn't change a thing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wanda
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
One of the best cornbread recipes I have ever made. My daughter, who doesn't like cornbread, actually ate this. Moist, sweet, very easy to make. Will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is now a staple bread when making soup or chilli. I use 1/3 cup of sugar instead of the 2/3 called for and find it just right for my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I liked this recipe, but I came up with a few edits. First of all, they were a bit dry, so I used 1 1/3 cups of buttermilk, instead of 1 cup. Second of all, I used 1/3 cups white sugar, instead of 2/3. But other than that, it was wonderful. All the muffins I have made with the modified recipe came out great and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Awesome recipe and I have made it at least 6 times with no fail...even did not have eggs one time and it still turned out good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
MY family LOVES this recipe the way it is!! I never change it when I want regular sweet cornbread, and this by far beats Marie Calendars!! the only time I have ever done anything extra to this recipe is to add one big can (or two little cans) of Ortega chilis to it. Comes out beautifully and the 40 minutes is a must if you add the chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The best homemade cornbread recipe I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made this for the first time today (Good Friday) my family loved it, especially my daughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Good recipe, tasty cornbread. I used milk and vinegar for the buttermilk. I will do buttermilk next time because I think it will be even better. I used a casserole dish but cast iron is what I usually bake this kind of bread in. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
For those true southerners who don't put sugar in their cornbread this isn't a southern cornbread. For those of us in the rest of the country this is the best cornbread you'll ever eat! I changed the directions but follow the ingredient list and amounts...I soak the cornmeal in the buttermilk first, then add the butter that I melted in the microwave and the eggs. Next I mix the rest of the dry ingredients in a large bowl and then combine with the wet ingredients. I take a tablespoon of butter and put it in my iron skillet and stick it the oven to melt and heat up the pan. I pour the batter into the iron skillet and bake for about 30 minutes until the cornbread is done. It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States