Grandmother's Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
The Custard Sauce "makes" this recipe! Next time I will use less raisins. Very moist. I think the spices need a little adjustment, could taste ginger too much. Overall, so good!!!( But you must make the sauce to go w/ this.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I used Splenda in place of sugar and raisin bread in place of french bread & raisins. I also baked it in a water bath....but otherwise it turned out so good I didn't need to make the custard sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
It's alright. I'm not a bread pudding fan anyway. I made this for my dad-no changes, and he loved it. I DID like to snack on the chilled custard the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Made this as some other reviewers suggested with less milk and sugar and added some bananas. I used homemade whole wheat bread that was about 3 days old. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Omitted raisins, added frozen berries and choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is my recipe. When I was growing up, my 'Momma' (Edith, the grandmother who raised me) would start baking as soon as the weather became too harsh for the kids to venture outside. This Bread Pudding recipe was a favorite for all of us! It is still every bit as good as I thought it was in the early 90's when I entered it in a contest. My 'Momma' was thrilled! It encouraged her and she began to compile recipes for a cookbook, but unfortunately died before she was able to publish it. I hope anyone who tries this, enjoys it as much as we do! P.S. You can make it with Craisins and serve it with warm syrup for a breakfast casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Amazing ,Best Bread pudding I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bouquet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by noahbythesea
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
this was the BEST bread pudding ever! i'm not a bread pudding person, but i will definitely be making this over and over again! i doubled it, using a large french bread loaf, and used 1.5 cup sugar (3/4 per batch) due to the reviews. and the custard sauce...MMM!!! that really made it yummy! next time i won't double that because it made a huge amount! this is seriously good. you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
WOW I am not that big a bread pudding fan but this was FABULOUS Comfort food at its best! And the custard is out of this world! My husband and I both ate several helpings when it was warm right out of the oven... and had to take a moment to stop and remember to breathe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Mmm, would definitely make this again. I used 2/3 cup brown sugar instead of 1 cup white, and replaced the pumpkin spice with 2tsp cinnamon + 1 tsp nutmeg. I also used a sliced ripe banana instead of raisins, following another reviewer's advice. In future, I'd probably use only 2 cups of milk for the sauce instead of 3, because it took forever to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States