Grandmother Stougaard's Caramel Pecan Sweet Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
My husband and I made these and loved them! The only problem was the one we caused, we doubled the topping recipe and it caused the caramel to remain gritty. (It doesn't melt completely.) Follow the exact recipe and they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RnRMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
I'm thrilled to be the first to rate this recipe! These are the BEST cinnamon rolls I've made on this site! As for being time consuming, they are no more than any other cinnamon roll recipe. I had originally planned to frost them, but they are perfect without. My husband who doesn't usually like sweets, can't get enough of these. The only change I made was chopping the pecans instead of leaving them whole. You've got a real winner here. Thanks so much for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Yum! Yum! Yum! These are great! The whole family gobbled them up. I didn't add the nuts as I have one that doesn't like them, but they still were great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I have NEVER had any luck making yeast breads, and this was so wonderful! I always read the reviews, and took advice on three of them - did not add the water to the caramel sauce - used a bit more butter - and removed from the pan immediately upon taking out of the oven. Very smooth caramel sauce - and no soggy rolls. They were so delicious! What an awesome recipe - and now I have some confidence in making yeast breads! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I had to add 3 tbs more water to the dough to get all the flour to incorporate and they topping was a bit to "hard" for my taste. They had good taste but after they were no longer hot we had to throw em in the nuker so the sticky on the top didn't break our teeth out. I could totally be to blame for the topping so I intend on trying these again but all in all a pretty solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I didn't actually make the cinnamon rolls, but I did use the pecan syrup part of this recipe. I really dont like how long it takes to make any cinnamon roll/sticky bun, but I love them, so instead I bought some pillsbury cinnabon cinnamon rolls, put them in the mixture, let them sit over night and bake them in the morning... Delicious!! and much less work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
These were good. You must eat them the first day tho',they become stale very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
these were very good. the only reason i rated this as four starts is because the "caramel" was runny when i filled the buns onto a plate after i took them out of the oven. it didn't really stick to the top of the rolls. i think i'll omit the water next time. otherwise, these were very yummy. even the dough tasted so much better than the pre-made rolls at the store and mall. i am definitely going to try this recipe again, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I only used the caramel and cinnamon/sugar portion of this recipe and used a whole wheat roll recipe (Whole Wheat Bread III) for the dough portion. I usually make just cinnamon rolls and never stick buns/sweet rolls, but I thought these turned out very nicely. The flavor and amount of cinnamon and caramel was right on, and the amount of nuts was just right too. I used chopped walnuts instead of pecans as I didn't have any, and they went well with the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and made the dough in my bread machine. I also double the corn syrup/brown sugar mixture as I made them in 9x13" pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States