Grandmother Stougaard's Caramel Pecan Sweet Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
these were very good. the only reason i rated this as four starts is because the "caramel" was runny when i filled the buns onto a plate after i took them out of the oven. it didn't really stick to the top of the rolls. i think i'll omit the water next time. otherwise, these were very yummy. even the dough tasted so much better than the pre-made rolls at the store and mall. i am definitely going to try this recipe again, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I don't usually review recipes where I dont't make the entire recipe, but I had to review this one even though I only used the caramel topping and center part. I cheated and used a box of hot roll mix and these turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
These were very good but a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
These were Delicious! i made a **FEW** modifications. Like using the rapid rise yeast, splenda brown sugar blend things like that. Pretty darn tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I have NEVER had any luck making yeast breads, and this was so wonderful! I always read the reviews, and took advice on three of them - did not add the water to the caramel sauce - used a bit more butter - and removed from the pan immediately upon taking out of the oven. Very smooth caramel sauce - and no soggy rolls. They were so delicious! What an awesome recipe - and now I have some confidence in making yeast breads! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
very good. Not that hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I had some difficulties with this recipe. But I think they were primarily my own fault. I used a bread machine for the dough, which worked fine, but I did need to add more water and I'm not sure why. Also, due to an unavoidable issue, I had to pull them out of the oven and the leave them in the pan for about 5 minutes, which was bad. The topping cooled to the bottom of the pan before I could flip them onto a plate.... I think I will attempt again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I didn't actually make the cinnamon rolls, but I did use the pecan syrup part of this recipe. I really dont like how long it takes to make any cinnamon roll/sticky bun, but I love them, so instead I bought some pillsbury cinnabon cinnamon rolls, put them in the mixture, let them sit over night and bake them in the morning... Delicious!! and much less work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkport, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Still not the sticky bun recipe that I am looking for but they were good. You can't go wrong with a butter, pecan & brown sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
These are to die for! they are so worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States