Grandma's Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Dough came out a bit dry, so I added a little more water to it. Also it becomes more of a sweeter roll when baked. I'll cut down the sugar next time. I was happy how light and airy they baked up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
heres my advice,... use 5 1/2 cups flour (or a little less), then let them rise for an hour and a half or longer, bake for about 35-35 minutes... works good for me,..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These were far too stiff. I wondered if the recipe was incorrect. Maybe it should have called for 2 3/4 cup of water rather than 1 3/4? Very dry and didn't rise well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Loved 'em! Cooked for only 45 minutes (temperamental oven issues) and added more sugar than called for due to sweet tooth. Leftovers made great "sandwich rolls" for turkey/cranberry sauce "sammies" :) Did not rise as much as I had expected and were DENSE rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The rolls did not raise well, and while they tasted good, the texture was very thick and heavy. They would probably be better with more yeast, and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I used 5 cups of flour initially and only had to add another 1/2 cup for the right consistancy. A big hit! They are delicious and everyone loved them. I will use this recipe again and again. This is a little more dense than some yeast rolls but that's what made it like G-ma's! Mmm mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as published. I found the rolls to be tough and heavy. I could have/should have used less flour than what was called for. Tasted okay but nothing great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
i found this recipe to be just what the doctor ordered. i tripled the sugar though because my family loves sweet rolls. they were a huge hit at easter dinner this last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buda, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
A good basic start for a yeast roll, seems to be a sweeter slightly more dense roll, but that it what I prefer. Like another reviewer I needed a bit more fluid after the 6 1/2 cups of flour...I think I added about 1/4 cup more warm water but it did not seem to affect the recipe at all by adding at the end of mixing when I discovered a dry dough. Rising time was closer to 60-70 minutes for doubling in size. Baking time ended up about 35 minutes on a cookie sheet. Easily makes 24 good size rolls. Very happy overall and will use this recipe again, maybe trying to brush a bit of melted butter on the tops before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
am I the only one who ended up with about 3 cups too much flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosy
Home Town: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States