Grandma's Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
It was good, but maybe more vegetables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Very good.. Added spices to taste like Italian seasoning and garlic. Pretty darned good. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Excellent and great flavor. Easy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I made this soup for my son and myself because I was looking for a way to use some ground beef I had on hand. It's good if you're looking for a fairly quick, cheap soup. That being said, it is definitely not like my Grandma's soup. We use a beef roast, homemade stock, fresh and/or frozen veg and a can of diced tomatoes. To me the ground beef is bland and the soup is quite tomato-y, but my son didn't complain. I might make it again in a pinch, but I'd definitely use beef stock in place of some of the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I added baby spinach leaves and my family raved over the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Excellent. I did not have ginger so I used sage. I used white pepper instead of black pepper. Great soup! Nice tomato taste base and soooooooo easy.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Comfort food at its best. Easy and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe! I used vegetable juice instead of tomato juice and made a couple other modifications to make it like my grandma's soup by adding a small amount of cabbage and celery. Definitely adding this recipe into my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I used V8 and did barley instead of potatoes. I also used a bag of mix veggies to save time. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
As is, this recipe would have been horridly bland. I started out with the original recipe, but I tend to taste as I go, and boy did this recipe need ALOT of help! This sin't a bad place to start, but I highly recommend adding a lot more seasoning than this calls for. I added garlic, ground red pepper, onion powder, a can of beef broth, italian seasoning, liquid smoke, a teaspoon of soy sauce, and worchestershire sauce. I also added a can of mushrooms (undrained) and 1/2 cup of barley (uncooked) to the pot. I let this simmer for close to three hours, watching it closely so it didn't scorch. I had to keep tasting it as it cooked and adjusting the amount of salt and black pepper since the fresh veggies and barley do tend to absorb the flavor The end product had amazing flavor, and was something that I would not be ashamed to server to guests with hot corn bread. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States