Grandma's Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe several times for my fiance' and I. All times it turned out perfectly and we have stored it with our collection of regular recipes to make again. It is quick and easy to make once memorized too, good for days when you don't feel like cooking! Lastly, I have never made my tomato soup with water. We always replace the water required in this recipe with half and half. An excellent choice for those seeking a creamier tomato soup. Also, if you want to add a little variety try adding some fresh basil. You cant go wrong. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Thanks for a great recipe. My family loves this soup. I normally add just 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of sugar. We also prefer medium egg noodles. It's so easy and sooooo much better than canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
We're really not lovers of canned tomato soup. This recipe changed our minds about tomato soup. Excellent. I did cut back on the sugar and added fresh basil. Easy and quick. Thank you,Gerri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I grew up on Cambells and this is a nice homemade replica. I doubled the recipe and the bottle of tomato juice i bought had 8 cups in it. I just threw the half empty bottle in the freezer for a quick thaw next time i make this. This will become a staple in my house. We love tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I used V-8 tomato juice. I made this a "creamy" tomato soup by using fat free evaporated milk instead of water. I also added some fresh ground pepper. My kids thought it was great, especially my youngest. They LOVED the egg noodles inside the soup. VERY fast and used pantry ingredients which this Mom was quite thankful for. Excellent substitution for me as I freaked when I didn't have my emergency can of Campbell's condensed tomato soup on hand. I'll make this again--maybe instead of buying a new emergency can of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is basically a homemade version of campbell's tomato, with some noodles thrown in! Very comforting. I think to make it a 5 star dish it needs some personalization, but definitely a nice base for getting creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Seriously!?!? I never knew tomato soup could taste this good! I used milk for the water and next time I'll use half the sugar, but an excellent basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Made this for my husband and 4 kids for a good winter dinner on a night when we didn't have time for elaborate recipes. Perfect and delicious and made a perfect accompaniment to our grilled cheese sandwiches. This is way better than the canned stuff. I did cut the sugar in half since I don't like my tomato soup so sweet, and left out the salt since the tomato juice I bought had plenty of sodium. I love salt but didn't miss the extra salt at all. Love it and will keep in my regular lineup. Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Love it.....Thanks for sharing...Kids loved it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States