Grandma's Taffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I think think this recipe is great for family cooking fun and it is also good for party's and decor for a store and for home decor invokes and small coffee cups on the dinning room table differing Ideas just be creative!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I heated it to 220 and I still get hard candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
this made caramel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This taffy did not work for me at all. I cooked it until 275°F and it was rock solid. Shuckapeafarms, I just saw the temp you said to cook it at. I might try this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
The temperature is correct; you should stop at soft crack, not hard crack and as you reach that temperature you should take the pan off the heat immediately. Soft ball stage will give you very sticky soft sweets. Taffy is definitely cooked to soft crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Taste is good, but followed directions perfectly and it is ROCK HARD. Not my definition of "taffy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Allred

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Though it takes more time than it says I still love this recipe. You need to be careful though because if you boil it too long it get really hard. The first time I tried I actually broke my scissors! It is fun to make and taster even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
It was good, but it never actually formed into taffy. We ended up loosing more than half of it on our hands, and gave up after attempting to pull it for a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This recipe is lacking three very important things. Number one, glycerin. Adding one to two teaspoons of pure 100% vegetable glycerin keeps it from being too sticky. Number two, this recipe should not be heated to 275. It should be heated to 260 F if you want a taffy consistency. Last but not least, proper cooling. The taffy needs to cool evenly for the best results so put some ice cubes in between a towel and set the cookie sheet on it. That will make the middle cool as fast as the edges. After almost a full year trying to perfect taffy making, I can say that it is possible. Don't give up if its not how you like it! Just keep trying and changing things, you'll get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
My 3-year-old daughter has been very into helping me in the kitchen lately, so I made this with her today and it turned out delicious! We cooked it to 260 degrees (hard ball stage) and it was the absolute perfect consistency...chewy and firm, but not enough to pull out your fillings or hurt your jaw. What a fun activity to do with kids, or without. We happened to have raspberry flavoring and colored it pink. We will definitely be making this again in more flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States