Grandma's Taffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
The temperature is correct; you should stop at soft crack, not hard crack and as you reach that temperature you should take the pan off the heat immediately. Soft ball stage will give you very sticky soft sweets. Taffy is definitely cooked to soft crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Taste is good, but followed directions perfectly and it is ROCK HARD. Not my definition of "taffy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Allred

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Though it takes more time than it says I still love this recipe. You need to be careful though because if you boil it too long it get really hard. The first time I tried I actually broke my scissors! It is fun to make and taster even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
It was good, but it never actually formed into taffy. We ended up loosing more than half of it on our hands, and gave up after attempting to pull it for a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This recipe is lacking three very important things. Number one, glycerin. Adding one to two teaspoons of pure 100% vegetable glycerin keeps it from being too sticky. Number two, this recipe should not be heated to 275. It should be heated to 260 F if you want a taffy consistency. Last but not least, proper cooling. The taffy needs to cool evenly for the best results so put some ice cubes in between a towel and set the cookie sheet on it. That will make the middle cool as fast as the edges. After almost a full year trying to perfect taffy making, I can say that it is possible. Don't give up if its not how you like it! Just keep trying and changing things, you'll get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
My 3-year-old daughter has been very into helping me in the kitchen lately, so I made this with her today and it turned out delicious! We cooked it to 260 degrees (hard ball stage) and it was the absolute perfect consistency...chewy and firm, but not enough to pull out your fillings or hurt your jaw. What a fun activity to do with kids, or without. We happened to have raspberry flavoring and colored it pink. We will definitely be making this again in more flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
The first time I tried this I burnt it badly :( So I tried it again. This time it came out just right in texture. After I let it cool a tad I started pulling it and noticed that the more I pulled the harder it got. Something isn't right :( The taffey tasted like a stick of sugar and I had to suck on it just to get it chewable....I'd suggest not puting so little flavor in and not cooking it so long. I had to cook it for half an hour before it was even close to the right consistency. Taffy should be easy to pull and roll, not feel like you're doing a work out at the gym! Grandma's Taffy recipe needs to be edited by it's owner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
this is not working! i have been boiling this for an hour now!!! it is not going above 200 degrees, not browning and not thickening. something is wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Taffy is a soft ball candy and therefore the temperature should be 234F and not 275F! 275F is almost hard crack which is candy cane consistancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I tried making this several times and I couldn't get it to ever get to that soft texture. It was always very hard, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States