Grandma's Sweet Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2002
EXCELLENT!!! Thank you so much Ms. Patty Hutchison. This is the cole slaw I've been looking for forever. WndWanderer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Just perfect!!! Tastes traditional but with a little sweet addition. We really enjoyed it and will make it often. Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Excellent Recipe, and no vinegar or pinneapple juice or any other weird flavor... I liked it because you can really taste the cabbage. I prefer this recipe made with 1/4 mayo and 1/4 miracle whip, with all miracle whip it's way too sweet... I also add pepper... Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGODDESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This is super--- I added a little squirt of lime juice. Was a big hit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This is a very fast and easy recipe that actually tastes good! If you like sweet coleslaw, this is a great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I like Kentucky Fried Chicken's sweet cole slaw, so this is what I was looking for. I browsed a similar recipe on this site and it had lots of ingredients. It tempted me to add salt and pepper, plus a splash of vinegar and a splash of milk. In retrospect, I wish I'd just kept it simple and left it without the extra liquid. I will keep the salt and pepper though for next time. It did seem too sugary at first, but let it sit for a while, then test it. It did create a bit of "juice" after sitting. Fine with me though; just like the restaurant's. Sometime when I'm feeling healthy, I will try it with Splenda. I think it would be very good. I used a bag of preshredded slaw mix and can't wait to use this again for a SUPER QUICK, CHEAP and HEALTHY side this summer, no oven needed. I think we'll try it on top of pork burgers - YUM! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Dziedzic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arkansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Very simple and tastes great. I use a 12 oz bag of pre-shredded broccoli slaw mix and add some celery seeds to the dressing. This version definitely needs to sit for a few hours to let the dressing soak into the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eptrox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saluda, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This recipe is easy and WONDERFUL! I had tried a buttermilk recipe on here and it was okay, but definitely lacking something. I think the tanginess the vinegar gives is really delicious. I did add about a teaspoon of celery seed, but that was the only thing I changed. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
My 84 yr old Dad wanted slaw for the Memorial Day cookout so I wanted to make it special. This recipe seemed like what we had when I was a kid. I used 1/4 cup Miracle Whip and 1/4 cup mayonnaise, "somewhat less than" 1/2 cup sugar, perhaps 1 Tbsp white wine vinegar, 1 cupped handful of celery seeds, and one package of Dole preshredded cabbage and carrot mix. Both my Dad and my husband declared it excellent so I guess I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
It is delicious if you like sweetness in slaw. I thought it was delicious for what it is--SWEET slaw. If I didn't care for sweet, I would search for another recipe. The sheer simplicity of this slaw recipe is what attracted me most. Thanks so much to its creator. I would love to publish all of my grandmother's recipes (of course, I will have to get them from my mother first). Her delicious recipes should immortalize her (perhaps you felt the same way about posting this). Grandmas knew how to cook! Perhaps yours, as well as mine, were cooks prior to refrigeration and even preserved foods by themselves--they knew everything about cooking and everything was fresh (of course... I'm referring to my great grandparents). GREAT JOB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States