Grandma's Sweet Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This is the easiest and most economical recipe for slaw I've ever found. I used a bag of tricolor shredded cabbage mix instead of the cabbage and carrots called for. Super simple, foolproof recipe for great coleslaw. I thought it could use a little less sugar, but no one commented about it being "sweet", which it indeed is. Not my favorite, but certainly great as it is, and worth 5 stars just for the simplicity. Thanks Patty, my family gobbled this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Good just what I wanted. I'll probably decrease the sugar next time as my hubby said it was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was really good! We used 1/2 Splenda, 1/2 sugar. It was a little soupy, though. This recipe has a lot of potential, too. I could easily see adding some coconut or raisins or celery or crushed pinapple, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Raton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I like Kentucky Fried Chicken's sweet cole slaw, so this is what I was looking for. I browsed a similar recipe on this site and it had lots of ingredients. It tempted me to add salt and pepper, plus a splash of vinegar and a splash of milk. In retrospect, I wish I'd just kept it simple and left it without the extra liquid. I will keep the salt and pepper though for next time. It did seem too sugary at first, but let it sit for a while, then test it. It did create a bit of "juice" after sitting. Fine with me though; just like the restaurant's. Sometime when I'm feeling healthy, I will try it with Splenda. I think it would be very good. I used a bag of preshredded slaw mix and can't wait to use this again for a SUPER QUICK, CHEAP and HEALTHY side this summer, no oven needed. I think we'll try it on top of pork burgers - YUM! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **zuzu**

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arkansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This is a very fast and easy recipe that actually tastes good! If you like sweet coleslaw, this is a great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This is super--- I added a little squirt of lime juice. Was a big hit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Excellent Recipe, and no vinegar or pinneapple juice or any other weird flavor... I liked it because you can really taste the cabbage. I prefer this recipe made with 1/4 mayo and 1/4 miracle whip, with all miracle whip it's way too sweet... I also add pepper... Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGODDESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I made this quickly last night to serve with our fish fry. I just put the entire recipe on a bag of shredded cabbage. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I THOUGHT THIS WAS PRETTY TASTY, THO I DID CUT DOWN ON THE SUGAR A LITTLE BIT AND ADDED A FEW SPLASHES OF VINEGAR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Just perfect!!! Tastes traditional but with a little sweet addition. We really enjoyed it and will make it often. Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States