Grandma's Sweet Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This recipe is easy and WONDERFUL! I had tried a buttermilk recipe on here and it was okay, but definitely lacking something. I think the tanginess the vinegar gives is really delicious. I did add about a teaspoon of celery seed, but that was the only thing I changed. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
We enjoyed this recipe.To add a a little extra zip I put 1/4 cup of vinegar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Very simple and tastes great. I use a 12 oz bag of pre-shredded broccoli slaw mix and add some celery seeds to the dressing. This version definitely needs to sit for a few hours to let the dressing soak into the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eptrox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saluda, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This is the easiest and most economical recipe for slaw I've ever found. I used a bag of tricolor shredded cabbage mix instead of the cabbage and carrots called for. Super simple, foolproof recipe for great coleslaw. I thought it could use a little less sugar, but no one commented about it being "sweet", which it indeed is. Not my favorite, but certainly great as it is, and worth 5 stars just for the simplicity. Thanks Patty, my family gobbled this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Good just what I wanted. I'll probably decrease the sugar next time as my hubby said it was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was really good! We used 1/2 Splenda, 1/2 sugar. It was a little soupy, though. This recipe has a lot of potential, too. I could easily see adding some coconut or raisins or celery or crushed pinapple, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Raton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I like Kentucky Fried Chicken's sweet cole slaw, so this is what I was looking for. I browsed a similar recipe on this site and it had lots of ingredients. It tempted me to add salt and pepper, plus a splash of vinegar and a splash of milk. In retrospect, I wish I'd just kept it simple and left it without the extra liquid. I will keep the salt and pepper though for next time. It did seem too sugary at first, but let it sit for a while, then test it. It did create a bit of "juice" after sitting. Fine with me though; just like the restaurant's. Sometime when I'm feeling healthy, I will try it with Splenda. I think it would be very good. I used a bag of preshredded slaw mix and can't wait to use this again for a SUPER QUICK, CHEAP and HEALTHY side this summer, no oven needed. I think we'll try it on top of pork burgers - YUM! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Dziedzic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arkansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This is a very fast and easy recipe that actually tastes good! If you like sweet coleslaw, this is a great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This is super--- I added a little squirt of lime juice. Was a big hit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Excellent Recipe, and no vinegar or pinneapple juice or any other weird flavor... I liked it because you can really taste the cabbage. I prefer this recipe made with 1/4 mayo and 1/4 miracle whip, with all miracle whip it's way too sweet... I also add pepper... Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGODDESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States