Grandma's Sweet Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
The key to this recipe is to use Miracle Whip instead of mayonnaise. It makes a sweet and sour taste. It's also good to add a little celery seed. My mother used to make a cooked slaw dressing and this recipe (using miracle whip) is very similar to it. I wouldn't like it with mayonnaise. I do think you need to use sugar to YOUR taste. PS I'm 73 years young and like things cooked the "old" way but with modern convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I LOVE sweet slaw from KFC and had looked everywhere for a recipe. I've found it!!! The only change to the recipe was that I added vinegar for that tanginess. PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Good start, simple & easy: great after 2 modifications-I gave it 3 & a half stars. I followed other suggestions- cut mayo & sugar in half. Almost perfect, but a bit bland. Added a touch of distilled white vinegar & perfecto!! Great even after couple days!! Thanks for sharing. A definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spooscott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
It is delicious if you like sweetness in slaw. I thought it was delicious for what it is--SWEET slaw. If I didn't care for sweet, I would search for another recipe. The sheer simplicity of this slaw recipe is what attracted me most. Thanks so much to its creator. I would love to publish all of my grandmother's recipes (of course, I will have to get them from my mother first). Her delicious recipes should immortalize her (perhaps you felt the same way about posting this). Grandmas knew how to cook! Perhaps yours, as well as mine, were cooks prior to refrigeration and even preserved foods by themselves--they knew everything about cooking and everything was fresh (of course... I'm referring to my great grandparents). GREAT JOB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was my first attempt at making cole slaw and it came out very well! I used a review's suggestion and used 1/4 cup salad dressing and 1/4 cup mayonnaise, instead of the full 1/2 cup mayonnaise. I also used a little bit of lemon juice and white and black peppers. Turned out fine, will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was my first attempt at cole slaw and it was extrememly easy to make. I would reccomen this for beginners. I thought that it was way too sweet, although that may have been because I sustituted sugar for splenda. I guess it does say sweet in the title. I would also reccomend adding pepper and maybe some red onion to balance out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
a little too sweet for me, so I dressed it up with some sour cream, red wine vinegar and some celery seed. So I guess it's not the same recipe anymore? It still gave me a good "base" to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
My 84 yr old Dad wanted slaw for the Memorial Day cookout so I wanted to make it special. This recipe seemed like what we had when I was a kid. I used 1/4 cup Miracle Whip and 1/4 cup mayonnaise, "somewhat less than" 1/2 cup sugar, perhaps 1 Tbsp white wine vinegar, 1 cupped handful of celery seeds, and one package of Dole preshredded cabbage and carrot mix. Both my Dad and my husband declared it excellent so I guess I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This recipe is easy and WONDERFUL! I had tried a buttermilk recipe on here and it was okay, but definitely lacking something. I think the tanginess the vinegar gives is really delicious. I did add about a teaspoon of celery seed, but that was the only thing I changed. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
We enjoyed this recipe.To add a a little extra zip I put 1/4 cup of vinegar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States