Grandma's Sweet Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I mixed in a little milk and cider vinegar with the mayo (Helmann's) don't use Miracle Whip. I also added a little bit of finely minced green onion and a pinch of celery seed. It's like potatoe salad...It's always better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USAF mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Great coleslaw dressing. We love the sweet style. I buy bagged coleslaw mix and chop it finer in the food processor. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Very good coleslaw, just the way we like it. I wouldn't recommend adding or taking away a thing! Dont fuss it up, this is one of those recipes where simpler is better. If you are looking for a non sweet slaw, this one is NOT for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
All this recipe is missing is white vinegar balanced to taste with the sugar and little chunks of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is the way we like our coleslaw with the following additions: For ease I buy the pre-shredded cabbage w/carrots. Add milk to the Mayo for a lighter consistency, a diced onion and only two teaspoons of sugar. I also add several slices of bacon, cooked and cut into small pieces. When everything is mixed together I sprinkle the top with paprika. After chilling for several hours the flavors blend so well. Everyone that I have served this to always asked for the recipe and can't believe it was so easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Normally, I like coleslaw almost any way you can fix it. But.... this was over the top way too sweet. All you taste is sugar. I even tried to modify it a little to get away from the sugary taste, but nothing helped it. It was edible , but barely. I won't be making it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
cut down on the sugar and use chopped pineapple chunks less mayo and use italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
WAY too sweet and no vinegar or acid to counter balance the flavor. We did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Make this a 5 star recipe by adding 1/4 cup red wine vinegar to the sugar and mayo and whip with wire whisk before tossing with the cabbage and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by **Trinity**
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is the typical slaw you'll find in most of the south. We usually add a little salt to it around here. And we usually add more mayo than this recipe calls for. It's a good, cheap side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Trinity**

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States