Grandma's Sweet Hubbard Squash Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This pie is awesome. I love squash way better than pumpkin. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I was having a meeting with co-workers so I made this the nite before and brought it in for our meeting and it was the rave about. My family also loved it. My husband wants to use this instead of our pumpkin pie receipe we usually use. It has now become one of our family fav's. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene
Home Town: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I never really find the time to go back and review recipes after I've made them... but this pie was SO GOOD I couldn't help but give it some 5 star respect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
A very lightly sweet, dense, nicely flavored pie. I used evaporated milk to reduce fat and topped it with a sugar free whipped topping. My husband, who isn't a fan of squash and tried it almost reluctantly, really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
As most of the reviewers for this one I came about a hubbard squash by inheritance. This is somewhat like a pumpkin pie but its darker and the taste is a bit different. Its not real sweet but sweet enough to be enjoyable. We really liked it. Under the circumstances I inherit another one of the squashes this is the first thing I will make with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Someone gave me a hubbard squash from their garden. I was told it made delicious pies. So I was thrilled when I found this recipe. The first time I made the pies. I followed the recipe as stated. Not being very much into sweets myself I was happy with the low sugar content of the pies so I knew they'd be fine for anyone on a low sugar diet (ie grandma). However I am in the South and "WE LOVE OUR SWEETS" so the second time I made them for the "not so low sugar crowd" I put in 2 cups of dark brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar. What a crowd pleaser! Great recipe it's really a 2 in 1 recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I made this recipe because it was the only hubbard squash recipe listed, and I had obtained one randomly. This tastes like a pumpkin pie, if I had to compare it to something. Very tasty! I used 1tsp of cinnamon and .5tsp nutmeg for the apple pie spice. I also used evaporated milk instead of cream, and it turned out fine. Mashing the squash was good enough, I avoid pureeing whenever possible. Nice to see good squash recipes listed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Great!!! I made do with the ingredients I had--butternut squash and evaporated milk but it turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
My grandma made this pie every year and it was always a hit! very easy to make - and versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States