Grandma's Sweet Hubbard Squash Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Made them in a cup cake pan. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2cup of heavy cream are both obviously wrong. Even with 2 and 1/2 cups of evaporated milk this won't make custard. And I think it was meant to be 1 AND 1/2 cups of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
It was ok, tasted a lot like pumpkin. The kids tasted it but wouldn't take more than one bite, and they love pumpkin pie. I thought it wasn't quite sweet enough, next time I would up the sugar to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Let's say this is one of the very best pies I've ever made. Not so sweet and wonderful consistency. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim M Brown-Coon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I used evaporated milk instead of cream, and butternut squash instead of hubbard in my blender and it was quite a hit! I will definitely make this again, it turned out perfectly :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VHanko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Excellent pie. I topped the pie with topping mix and instructions from Brown Family's favorite Pumpkin Pie. Nobody knew it wasn't really pumpkin pie. Very creamy, very tasty. Will always use this recipe in future when I want pumpkin pie. Oh, and I used Pumpkin Pie Spice rather than apple pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yodolher
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Easy to do...what sped it up was that I already had some leftover hubbard squash baked the day before. So prep time was much shorter for me. The pie turned out delicious. Taste is not like pumpkin or sweet potato pie. Definitely has a unique taste all its own. The custard was very light. Loved that the pie was not sweet. - yodolher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Yummy. Made it just like the recipe, but also made my own crust. First time making a pie for me, and it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
LOVED this pie!! This will be my ultimate go-to "pumpkin" pie recipe from now on. The flavor and smooth texture was amazing! I had some buttercup squash that I had previously roasted, mashed, and frozen. Just grabbed a 2 cup bag of squash (thawed, of course), and tossed it in the blender with the rest of the ingredients, just as listed. Buttercup squash is a bit drier and finer textured than regular ol' pumpkin, so this pie had a wonderful smooth texture. Also, buttercup squash is sweeter than most other winter squashes and pumpkins, so I stuck with the 1/2 cup sugar and it was just perfect. Anything more would have been too sweet. The apple pie spice was great in this pie, rather mild and to me it really fits the late summer/early fall season. When I make this pie around Thanksgiving and Christmas, I'll probably use pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I'm giving this recipe five stars because the reservations I describe are not its fault. This is the first pie I've made from a "raw" squash, always having used canned pumpkin before. I was happy with the result. Flavor and texture were fine (although the pies cracked -- like a cheescake. My "reservations" are simply that the resulting pie is really no better than with the canned stuff! Roasting the squash and extracting the pulp was not all that difficult -- but not as easy as opening a can, for the same results! One change I did make was to substitute a mix of pumpkin-pie spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger) for the called-for apple-pie spice. Although I suspect that apple-pie spice and pumpkin-pie spice are similar, I just could not bring myself to use apple-pie spcies in what is essentially pumpkin pie. I don't recall any reviewers commenting on the spice -- maybe the comments are there (just didnt see 'em). I do wonder if the apple-pie spice would somehow have worked with the hubbard squash in some special way.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States