Grandma's Suet Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This recipe is very close to one that my family has always enjoyed.It really is delicious.For those who find it difficult to use the suet,try substituting applesauce.It tastes the same,without the health hazards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very similar to a recipe that has been a holiday tradition for years. The applesauce is a great idea and delivered the same great taste. For a little different sauce, try creating a lemon butter sauce to pour over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I added citron peel, currants and candied cherries and substituted apple sauce for the suet. YUM! Very good with "Hardly Hard Sauce."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I love that this recipe calls for actual molasses. As for the suet, if the suet comes from grass-fed beef fed on pesticide-free grass, you're safe from the toxins that reside in the fats of animals. My grandmother used to make this for all our holiday meals. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is Christmas! Every year my Mother use to bake this for my scotish father. I made this last night because I still have the cast iron mold pan my Mother used. It was fantastic !! The only thing differnt was my Mother added a brandy sauce that was lit at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Great recipe In Australia we can buy dessicated suet in packets from the supermarkets. Makes it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This recipes brings back Christmas in England. My mother and grandmother always made this for Christmas dinner. After wonderful roast beef and Yorkshire pudding dinner there was still room for this old fashioned dessert. Oh my it!s good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Our family has been making a similer recipe since the early 1900's based on an old Scottish traidition. For those who are unsure, Suet is a specific fat which is typically discarded at the butcher. If you request it, they will typically give it to you several pounds for under a dollar. Only major difference is after refridgerating the loaf, we slice it and fry it for breakfast with eggs. Overall it tastes a lot like Cinnamon Raisen bread... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is the recipe that was on our Christmas plates every year growing up. My sister always made it and we referred to it as "heart attack on a plate" but it was always served warm with the meat entree.The only difference was it had lots of cinnamon and clove in it and was steamed in a muslin cloth in a kettle. Our recipe called for one cup of fine ground suet, which the meatcutter can do for you. We did not make a sauce for this as it makes its own sauce. This is the first time I have ever seen this recipe in print anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States