Grandma's Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This is the best stuffing I've ever tasted. Next time will try replacing 3/4c. butter with chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This stuffing was satisfactory. After peeling/chopping all the potatoes, boiling them, and all the additional steps, it took me over an hour to make. The summer savory spice was GREAT--I add it to everything now! If you are going to cook this on the side, make sure you cook it as long as the meat. I think next time, I'll cut down on the onions and use meat stock instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
My husbands grandmother was from Montegue PEI and made the same dressing. We have it 2-3 times a year and everyone loves it. I add a lot of celery to this and save my bread heals all year in the freezer to make this. My family adores this! I would love to be in contact with the person who put this recipe online. I give it 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is my favorite kind of stuffing! However when I make it I don't mash the potatoes, and I also add celery. Also when I aslo use egg in addition to butter when I mix it all together. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
If time is an issue, consider using instant mashed potatoes for this recipe. It will do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Was okay. Couldn't find dried summer savory at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
My version turned out great! I just had no idea how to bake it since I wasn't stuffing a turkey with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This has been a family recipe forever. I have only once seen this before. We used a ton of sage instead of savory but sounds just as good. If you want a moist stuffing, you can't go wrong with this one! I have done it both ways, in the turkey and in the oven. Since everything is already cooked you just need to warm through. Thank you for reviving this recipe, hopefully more people will try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States