Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I had a lot of eggs and wanted to bake a cake to get rid of them. This one (with 6 eggs) turned out great. Very moist, very tasty. Tips: use a little more than a pinch of ground mace (up to 1/4 teaspoon) and watch the cake closely for the final 15 minutes (I almost left it in the oven too long...next time I'll bake it at 325 degrees). This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This is a great recipe! I omitted the mace, did not have sour cream on hand so I substituted by adding 1 Tbl. lemon juice and enough whole milk to make one cup (like buttermilk). With my oven I baked less than 1 hour, you definately need to keep an eye on it while baking. I also iced it with the recipe for "Perfect Chocolate" Frosting, on the back of the Hershey's cocoa can. My family LOVED it! There was a piece left almost a week later and it was just as moist as the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
The flavor of this cake is pretty good. I don't think it's a stand alone cake though. I think it would be better with strawberries and whipped cream or something similar. It was very easy to whip up. I also liked how moist it was. I omitted the mace because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I've been looking for a moist heavy poundcake and this is it. I did make two small changes. I omitted the mace. I wanted a rich buttery stand alone cake that would marry with berries. Removing the mace gave me what I wanted. I also added a 1/4 tsp of baking powder. The result is a silky cake that's heavy, but has some air in it. Just perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I did as another reviewer suggested and omitted the mace, and added the baking powder. I also agree that it should be baked at 325. About 30 minutes into baking I saw the crust browning much too quickly and I lowered the temp to 325. It came out great and is a delicious stand-alone cake, or with fruit and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This cake was the best pound cake recipe I've tried. I omitted the mace and added twice the amount of vanilla to give it some extra flavor, which helped it stand alone. I also recommend cooking it at 325 or the top becomes too brown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Barger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
One of the best pound cake recipes I have every made. I baked mine in a slightly cooler oven (325)and it came out a beautiful golden brown. I had a little bit left over after a week and I made trifle with it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Wow...what a moist and flavorful cake. I've been searching for a sour cream bundt cake recipe like my mom used to make and this is it. I made the following modifications after reading the reviews: Omitted the mace, added 1/4 teaspoon baking powder and increased vanilla to 2 teaspoons. Baked at 325 degrees on middle rack in my oven. Cake was done after 1 hr and 10 minutes. This is delicious plain or drizzled with vanilla glaze. I plan to use this for strawberry shortcakes in the spring and for trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Very moist and delicious. Made this for a Sunday School morning snack and everybody loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was the first pound cake I ever made and it came out perfectly!! The top was slightly crunchy and sweet (exactly as I hoped)...Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States