Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I reduced sugar to 2 cups, doubled vanilla, added the baking powder, and oh wow was this delicious! Such a nice delicate flavor from the eggs and butter, balanced off with the vanilla. Excellent cake~ my whole family and I loved it, and so did my friends. Regarding baking time- its a mixed decision for me, I baked it at 325F for 20 mins before getting impatient and turning the oven onto 350F, and baking for a additional 30mins. (50mins in total) Its hard to say how the heck the cake got cooked so well, but it was nice and moist. Despite the strange baking method I used, I think I'll stick with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
To say this is a "moist" pound cake is a misnomer. It is a "butter saturated" pound cake. To discuss using lemon versus mace, no mace, more vanilla, less sugar, more sugar, adding baking powder, etc., isn't even important. None of it matters unless you reduce the butter in this recipe to 1-1/2 cups. Only then can variations be relevant. Even tho' as an experienced baker I knew better when I saw 2 cups of butter in this recipe (when most others would call for half that) I foolishly went ahead with this as written anyway, mistakenly assuming 100+ glowing reviews couldn't be wrong. Live and learn--they were wrong. Before making this, please do check out other pound cake recipes and compare the ratio of butter to flour--you will find this is an extraordinary amount of butter for the amount of flour which will NOT result in the dense, moist, fine crumb so prized in a good pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This is a delicious yet moist and flavorful cake.I did beat the sugar and butter untill fluffy.I beat each egg for 1 minute i add 1 1/2 tsp of vaniila extract 1 tsp of vanilla nut extract,1 tsp of lemaon extract and 1 tsp of coconut extract.And 1/2 tsp of almond extract.And follow the rest of the recipe how it was stated.This is a stand alone cake.That i have made over 10 or more times for alot of people.I tried it with mace and prefer not to used the mace.I just used different extract and it's alway a wnner.Thanks Grandma.For a simply icing you can used 2 cups confectioner sugar 1/4 cream cheese 2 tsp of milk 1 tsp of melted butter and just whipped to your desired thickness adding more powder sugar or more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I made this for my son's fourth birthday. I used it to make a train and cover with fondant. It was dense enough to hold its shape and still tasted great. It was very moist. I frosted underneath the fondant with a cream cheese buttercream. I would highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
WOW! I loved this cake! Very easy recipe! One tip though would be to at least halve the sugar. (I only used 1 1/2 cup sugar, and It was still very, very sweet.) Also, the cake was done at only 45 minutes, at 350 degrees in my oven. I will recommend and I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
The best Sour Cream Pound Cake recipe I have tried!!! This cake is sweet and has a perfect consistency if directions are followed. I sold these at Christmas and had people coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I used lemon zest instead of the mace, and that worked out really well. I think next time I make this cake, I'll also make a lemon glaze for the topping to help moisten the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Really moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This pound cake is very good. It's even better the next day. The only thing I'm not a fan of is that the crust ends up being thick, don't know if it's my pan or not. Still good. I've already made it twice and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
my hubby LOVED this recipe. So awesome. I didn't use any mace though- I used some grated lemon peel and fresh squeezed lemon juice- then dusted with powdered sugar- next time I'm going to do a lemon glaze as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAMPIN426

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States