Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This is a delicious yet moist and flavorful cake.I did beat the sugar and butter untill fluffy.I beat each egg for 1 minute i add 1 1/2 tsp of vaniila extract 1 tsp of vanilla nut extract,1 tsp of lemaon extract and 1 tsp of coconut extract.And 1/2 tsp of almond extract.And follow the rest of the recipe how it was stated.This is a stand alone cake.That i have made over 10 or more times for alot of people.I tried it with mace and prefer not to used the mace.I just used different extract and it's alway a wnner.Thanks Grandma.For a simply icing you can used 2 cups confectioner sugar 1/4 cream cheese 2 tsp of milk 1 tsp of melted butter and just whipped to your desired thickness adding more powder sugar or more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I made this for my son's fourth birthday. I used it to make a train and cover with fondant. It was dense enough to hold its shape and still tasted great. It was very moist. I frosted underneath the fondant with a cream cheese buttercream. I would highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
WOW! I loved this cake! Very easy recipe! One tip though would be to at least halve the sugar. (I only used 1 1/2 cup sugar, and It was still very, very sweet.) Also, the cake was done at only 45 minutes, at 350 degrees in my oven. I will recommend and I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
The best Sour Cream Pound Cake recipe I have tried!!! This cake is sweet and has a perfect consistency if directions are followed. I sold these at Christmas and had people coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I used lemon zest instead of the mace, and that worked out really well. I think next time I make this cake, I'll also make a lemon glaze for the topping to help moisten the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Really moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This pound cake is very good. It's even better the next day. The only thing I'm not a fan of is that the crust ends up being thick, don't know if it's my pan or not. Still good. I've already made it twice and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
my hubby LOVED this recipe. So awesome. I didn't use any mace though- I used some grated lemon peel and fresh squeezed lemon juice- then dusted with powdered sugar- next time I'm going to do a lemon glaze as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAMPIN426

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Wonderful very rich dense looking but light tasting pound cake! In all my baked goodies, I reduce the amount of sugar. Only added 2 cups of sugar which was sweet enough! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Easy to whip together and what results! Moist, buttery and delish. I brought this to a Mother's Day get together with my boyfriend's family, and although other (store bought) desserts were laid out, this pound cake was the one that everyone flocked to. I received RAVE reviews and everyone loved the simple strawberry topping I made to go along with it: two pints of strawberries with 2 tablespoons of sugar and 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice. Let the berries sit at room temperature for at least thirty minutes so the sugar dissolves and the natural juices of the berries come out. Spoon some of the juicy berries on a slice of this cake, add a dollop of whip cream, and ta-da! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellasequema

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States