Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was so easy and tasted wonderful. The only changes is i sifted the flour and i did turn the temp down to 325 the last 30 minutes. Turned our great. This one is a keeper and will be made over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I dont cook much but I was in the mood and my Mother-In-Law was coming for the holidays and I wanted to bake something. I found this recipe and made this cake. I read the reviews and the modifactions that others suggested, such as leaving out the mace, adding more vanilla and mixing for at least 10 minutes. My husband and in-laws are excellent cooks and picky eaters....they LOVED this cake and ate it ALL. My mother-in-law even asked me for the recipe! AWESOME cake! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
The best pound cake ever!! You must beat the sugar and butter about 10 minutes before you add the eggs and beat after each one for at least a minute. This is a must for any cake that says to beat until light and fluffy. Everyone loved it and I will bake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe was so delicious and moist. I could not believe how well this recipe came out. The only thing that I did differnt was sift the flour through a siffter. Thank you for this recipe, my family truly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VENUS2
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Big hit! Lots of beating--but worth the time. Only four stars because batter is too much for pan and, while overflow is nice and crusty, the cake comes out a bit lopsided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
One of the best pound cake recipes I've encountered by far. I followed other users' suggestions and beat the butter and sugar for 5 minutes and 1 minute after each addition of egg. I didn't have the ground mace on hand so I omitted it and see no reason to use it next time. I did have a bit of overflow that I didn't mind because it was a perfect crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This recipe turned out beautifully. I made a few modifications by omitting the mace, doubling the vanilla and adding 1 tsp of lemon extract. I also lowered the temperature 25 degrees. The cake was golden yellow without a crust and very moist. I would recommend using lemon zest instead of lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is a really good recipe. I ended up using yogurt instead of sour cream due to what I had in my fridge, but I will definitely try again with sour cream. I should have cut back the backing time just a tad to keep it a little less crusty, but it was delicious and I had no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This pound cake was great. I've been searching for a good sour cream pound cake recipe for a long time and I think I've found it. I always cut back the baking time to be safe and then I add more if it needs it. I baked only for an hour, poked it 20 times with toothpicks, and every single one came out clean. However, after cooling and putting on a plate, it was still underdone! So, next time I will bake for 1 hour and ten minutes. I also baked at 325, cut back the sugar to 2.5 cups, and added an extra half teaspoon of vanilla. Ran out of mace, so omitted it. Tastes really good with fresh strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I have never found a better old fashioned sour cream pound cake recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States