Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
LOVE IT!!!!! This is a top hit! It is wonderful with a lemon glaze. I also used this for a Up-side Down Pineapple cake and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary2011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
THE BEST SOUR CREAM POUND CAKE I'VE TASTED. SO FOLLOW INSTRUCTION TO THE LETTER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nuno
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have my own recipe for pound cake. This is a very good recipe for pound cake. I tweeked it some. I only put in one cup of butter and one cup of Crisco instead of two cups butter. I also added half tsp of almond and half tsp of butter extract. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This pound cake recipe is awesome! It's moist and desnse just like a pound cake should be. I omitted the mace and added more vainilla. I baked it at 325 for 1 hour 10 minutes as suggested and it turned out perfect! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This cake was very,very moist, but the texture was not very fine-grained. I'm not sure whether I am the culprit or the tremendous amount of butter in the recipe is the culprit.....but, 2 lbs is a LOT of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Recipe as written has too much butter. I should have read through comments and reduce amount of sugar and butter. I'll try with some of the recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I have been trying several different recipes over the past few months to find a good pound cake...this is it..stays so moist, not that it last long enough to get dried out...simple, and scrumptous...5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Excellent cake. Moist and wasy to bake. I did cut the sugar down to 2 1/2 Cups. Thought it was a bit too sweet. That's my personal taste. Cake is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie McFadden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
THIS CAKE WAS FABULOUS. I ALWAYS READ THE REVIEWS AND TAKE THEM INTO CONSIDERATION BEFORE USING THE RECIPE. THE ONLY THING I DID WAS TO LOWER THE OVEN TEMP. TO 325 BECAUSE THE BATTER WAS SO THICK. I USED A BUNDT PAN AND IT CAME OUT PERFECT. THIS IS DEFINITELY A KEEPER AND I WILL MAKE IT AGAIN. THANK YOU FOR SHARING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this for Christmas... Everyone loved it!!! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzMocha82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States