Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
The cake comes out to be light and wonderfully flavorful, though I admit I followed one reviewer's suggestion and increased the amount of vanilla by a bit when I found I didn't have mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is absolutely the best recipe for pound cake I've ever made. Didn't use mace and made a confection icing with fresh lemon. Outdstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Let me say initially, if a recipe requires this many modifications, I don't hold it as a good recipe for me. However, I did add more vanilla and the baking soda. The top puffed up, separated from the cake, and even though I covered it loosely with foil when I realized it was browning so quickly, it still was crusty and ultimately flaked off the cake. In the end there were dense, unbaked pockets at the bottom. Won't use again. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
My family enjoys this cake. I bake it frequently .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I just took this out of the oven about an hour ago!!! I didn't have any mace, I did add some lemon zest to it. I had to cut it and try a piece warm, it did not disappoint!!!! Great pound cake, not dry!!!! This is another keeper from this site!!!!!!!! I did put this in a cold oven, did not preheat and cooked it for an hr. and 15 min. and it came out perfect!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Truly devine! I did make one major change, I lowered the sugar to 2 1/3 C., only my preference though! I don't care for mace, so I added 1 T. of vanilla, some orange zest, fresh raspberries, and a cup of chocolate chips. What a perfect consistentcy, texture, rise, and just everything! I had enough for a little (6 inch) cake and a 10 inch fluted bundt cake pan. It turned out beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is the best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Awesome! This has become a staple for birthday parties and holidays. My family raves about this recipe. The only thing I do differently is to omit the mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lanham, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I make this cake (at the request of my family) EVERY Thanksgiving & Christmas!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
First of all, this makes A LOT of cake. I made it per the recipe but cut butter to 1 3/4 cups, cut sugar to 1 1/4 cups, added a touch more vanilla, used no mace, and added about 1/4 cup of pinapple juice as I was making upside down cake. I also added 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of baking soda. I baked at 325 and used a sheet pan. Cake took a little over 2 hours to fully bake. And the cake is PHENOMENAL. Awesome, moist, perfect crumb, light, fluffy, buttery, just delicious. This is a keeper, but I think I'll cut the recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plump@Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States