Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Wow!! This is my grandmother's sour cream pound cake recipe too!! It is always a hit at every holiday or get together. I love the flavor the mace brings to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieKeen
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
The best I've ever had. Turns our perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This taste yummy the mace gives it an extra kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This cake was so moist & delicious, I didn't add 1 tsp. of salt, I only used 1/4 tsp & it came out perfect. Thanks for this recipe. I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Platinum Queen
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
The cake comes out to be light and wonderfully flavorful, though I admit I followed one reviewer's suggestion and increased the amount of vanilla by a bit when I found I didn't have mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is absolutely the best recipe for pound cake I've ever made. Didn't use mace and made a confection icing with fresh lemon. Outdstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Let me say initially, if a recipe requires this many modifications, I don't hold it as a good recipe for me. However, I did add more vanilla and the baking soda. The top puffed up, separated from the cake, and even though I covered it loosely with foil when I realized it was browning so quickly, it still was crusty and ultimately flaked off the cake. In the end there were dense, unbaked pockets at the bottom. Won't use again. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
My family enjoys this cake. I bake it frequently .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I just took this out of the oven about an hour ago!!! I didn't have any mace, I did add some lemon zest to it. I had to cut it and try a piece warm, it did not disappoint!!!! Great pound cake, not dry!!!! This is another keeper from this site!!!!!!!! I did put this in a cold oven, did not preheat and cooked it for an hr. and 15 min. and it came out perfect!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Truly devine! I did make one major change, I lowered the sugar to 2 1/3 C., only my preference though! I don't care for mace, so I added 1 T. of vanilla, some orange zest, fresh raspberries, and a cup of chocolate chips. What a perfect consistentcy, texture, rise, and just everything! I had enough for a little (6 inch) cake and a 10 inch fluted bundt cake pan. It turned out beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States