Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was my very first attempt at a pound cake. It was so easy! I had heard that pound cakes were hard, aggravating. Not this one. It tasted just like I remember my "Grandma's" tasting. It was buttery, moist, and had a soft texture. My husband said to definitely remember this one. I would recommend this one for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
My first time ever baking a cake without the help of Dunkin Hines and it was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
It was good, but I couldn't find any mace, so I use nutmeg instead, I mean mace is just the outer coating of nutmeg, so it would taste, and react similar to mace than anything else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Philp

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AgnusDei
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Very moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
No baker, just really getting into baking... this cake is wonder & very.easy to make !! :-) I followed recipe then after placing batter in pans l added fresh frozen peaches in one of the cake pans. For the top layer of my cake. Im baking a birthday cake for someone an they love peaches. It turned out really good an moist It did take 5min more longer to bake for the cake batter l added the peaches to- than other, probably be be same time if l would have added fresh or defrosted fruit. I put cream cheese frosting between the cakes, l set the cake with peaches on top. Used chocolate fudge frosting to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I was a little concerned over how much sugar this recipe calls for, but I tried it anyway. Should have trusted my instincts. This cake is much too sweet. It was, however, very moist but I had to bake it for 30 minutes longer than what the recipe indicates. Won't be giving this one a second try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and it always turns out great and gets rave reviews. This time my 14yr old niece helped and was a little rough with the "folding" in of the dry ingredients but the cake turned out perfectly. I added 1TBS of vanilla. It was so moist we ate it straight off the plate without whipped cream! Next time I'll try adding some orange or lemon extract for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Made this recipe 2 times today. Needed it for a "Bag lunch" I am doing for Relay of Life tomorrow. Best pound cake I has ever tasted. My eggs were a little small so I used 7 eggs in this cake. Next time I make it I will try cutting the butter to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a big hit for the holidays. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent when I made adjustments recommended by most other reviewers (reduce sugar to 2 1/4 cups, add 1/4 tsp baking powder, increased vanilla to 2 tsp). Definitely make with 1 pound of butter as this IS a pound cake (thus, the name)! If you don't like a very moist, buttery cake this isn't for you. My family loved it and I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States