Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I'm not a big fan of chili and this was the best I've tried. I make different recipes for Vegetarian chili often. I loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Love this recipe! Sometimes a brown some ground beef or turkey and add that in. It's great either way. Also, Progresso stopped making the black bean soup. The only other one I could find was Goya. That works just as well. Definitely recommend to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Nothing great. I would not make it again. I am a vegetarian, but my family is not. But I didn't like it. Tried adding hot peppers to add flavor. Served with mexican cheese and corn tortillas. More of a soup than chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I decided to give this recipe 4 stars, mostly because it was a great jumping off point for an amazing chili. I made a significant amount of changes thanks to previous reviewers (you guys rock) and my own past chili experiences. I added 2 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes with zesty chiles and a poblano pepper to increase the kick. I left out the basil, oregano, and parsley. I tripled the chili powder (3 Tbsp chili powder), then added 1 Tbsp cumin, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp cocoa powder. I also added 1/2 tsp liquid smoke. When I mixed everything up, I wasn't convinced there was enough liquid so I wound up adding 1 cup of water with 1 bullion cube. Learning experience: that was way too much liquid. I put it in the slow cooker for 4 hours on low, 2 hours on high plus an extra 30 minutes of cooking on high with the lid off thanks to my fears about the lack of liquid (oops). Next time I'd probably stick to 1/2 cup broth (though it might not need any at all). My boyfriend had three servings, even venturing to say it was the best chili he's ever had! He didn't even miss the meat! A meal that makes both the vegetarian and meat-eater happy? This will be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
My husband and kids really loves this recipe! I use other veges such as zucchini...I think whatever you want to throw in will taste yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda Rose
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Delicious and healthy! Im with everyone else who says leave out the sweetness of baked beans and add a little more tomatoes and chili powder. I also added 2 onions and double the kidney beans. Ill be freezing the leftovers for another meal later in the month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
i, like others add mushrooms, cumin, peppers, chili flakes, and a bit of sugar. It is an excellent recipe otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Great recipe. Perfect with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I just made this yesterday. It is really good! I like things a little spicier so I added more chili powder and some cumin. Otherwise I just followed the ingredients as given. I doubled it and cooked it on low for about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNINGMOMMYOF2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States