Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This is GREAT!!!! I made a BIG BATCH, so that I could freeze some!!! Here is what I used: 1 - 40 1/2 oz kidney beans, rinsed and drained 2 - 16 oz great northern white, " " 2 - 16 oz black beans, " " 2 - 16 oz vegetarian baked beans - not drained 1 - 28 oz chunky crushed tomatoes in puree - " " 1 - 10oz rotel tomatoes, not drained 1 - 16oz frozen white sweet corn I eliminated the celery, used the onion and garlic, and one green pepper, and added WAHOO Chili seasoning from Tastefully Simple, and some crushed red pepper. Did mine on low for 9 hours and it is GREAT!!!!!!!!! We are having some nice bread w/ it and putting some lowfat cheese and low fat sour cream on top!!!! YUM Great for a snowy day here in PA!!!!! Thank you Kevin....I like this chili w/o meat better than my usual w/ meat!!!!!!!!! This is a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
425 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This is one of my favorite recipes, although I tweek it quite a bit. For the seasoning, I always axe the oregano and add a chili mix in place of chili powder. I always double or triple the tomatoes, using a variety of crushed, diced, puree, and whole tomatoes. I found a small can of black bean soup in the goya aisle (in case anyone was still searching for black bean soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I, like other reviewers, could not find condensed black bean soup, so I used a ready to serve version. I also made several alterations which resulted in the best veggie chili I've ever made! I didn't add the italian spices, using only salt and a lot of chili powder. I added two onions instead of one, added one package of Yves Veggie Ground Round (a soy fake ground beef like product), used one red, one yellow, and one green pepper (not to mention the six jalepenos), two diced portabella mushrooms, and since I wasn't sure if the canned tomatoes were diced or pureed, added a 28 oz can of each. It was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Wow! This was so good. I really couldn't imagine all of the flavors together, but the reviews were so good I wanted to try it. As others have said, it was delicious and so, so easy. Since we like spicy food, I did change the spices. Rather than the spices from the recipe, I put in 3 Tbsp. chili powder, 2 Tbsp cumin, 2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 Tbsp salt, and a few grinds of black pepper. My tomatoes weren't in puree so I added one can of tomato paste to thicken it a little and I used black beans rather than black bean soup. I cooked it for about 3 hours in the slow cooker. This is one that I will make again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
this was delicious! my whole family loved it! i tend to like chili on the sweet side, so i added a tsp. of brown sugar. but then i read another reviewer's note that the recipe was too sweet on it's own.. so , i added a whole chopped tomato and about a tbs. of lemon juice. it came out perfect! i have repeated these additions with every other batch i've made. i like the extra tomato and the lemon adds a bit of a kick. i also cooked this on low for 6-7 hours and it was perfect. the vegetables were still a bit crunchy - just how we like them and the flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
It's good but it is really sweet.Maybe omitting the baked beans and adding more kidney beans or maybe some pinto beans.This was a good recipe, if a little bland, but I added extra chili powder, tomatoes and some cumin and it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
The recipe is a bit bland, but is a good base for adding your own "heat" to the chili. I took a clue from other reviewers, and cooked mine for 5 hours on high in my slow cooker, and it turned out just right. I also added cumin, some red pepper flakes, and a bit of salt because I used sodium-free canned items. Instead of the can of chopped tomatoes, I used a larger can of crushed tomatoes in puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
Waste of time and money. Even my husband who will try anything thought it looked and tasted gross. Don't try it unless you really, really love beans a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
This was wonderful-nice and spicy. Two hours is a perfect amount of time in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
This was excellent! I made it for part of a class presentation and many people asked for the recipe. I made a few changes: I added a Tablespoon of Cumin, an extra Tablespoon of chili powder, and a sliced jalapeno pepper. I omitted the chopped tomatoes in puree and instead used a can of choppped tomatoes and a can of puree. I cooked it on low for 6 hrs. It was delicious, just the right amount of heat and spice. Next time I think I might try using another can of kidney beans instead of the garbanzo beans just to make it look more "chili-like".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 524) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States